New Commissioner appointed by federal government

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau today announced the appointment of Angélique Bernard as Yukon’s new Commissioner and Adeline Webber as the territory’s new Administrator. 

As the 26th Commissioner of Yukon, Angélique Bernard is the ceremonial head of the government. To allow the new Commissioner to immediately fulfill their duties, such as assenting to bills and signing Orders-in-Council, the new Commissioner will be sworn in during a private ceremony on Monday, March 12 10:30 a.m. at Taylor House.    

Yukoners will be invited to a public celebration and reception to welcome the new Commissioner later in March. Details of the event will be announced in the coming weeks.  

The new Administrator, who fulfills the executive duties of the Commissioner when they are absent, will also be sworn in on March 12.

I am very pleased the Prime Minister has chosen to appoint Angélique Bernard as our Commissioner and Adeline Webber as Yukon’s Administrator. I congratulate them on their appointments. I look forward to working with these individuals in their new capacities.

Premier Sandy Silver

Quick facts 
  • For administrative purposes, Commissioner Angélique Bernard will be sworn-in on Monday, March 12. The private, administrative swearing-in will include the signing of the Oath of Allegiance, the Oath of Office and the Oath of Secrecy – all administered by the Yukon’s Chief Justice Ron Veale.

  • The Commissioner is Yukon’s head of state and an important figure in the legislature and the Government of Yukon. The Commissioner has a broad range of regulatory responsibilities and powers – which includes assenting to bills, signing Orders in Council and other legislative functions, as well as ceremonial duties.

  • The Commissioner is appointed to a five-year term.


Sunny Patch 
Cabinet Communications 

Pavlina Sudrich 
Office of Commissioner 

News release #: