Advisory committee for Yukon education resumes work

On September 20, 2018, the Advisory committee for Yukon education met to resume its work providing input and advice on supporting students and improving the public education system in Yukon.

At this meeting, government staff reported progress to the committee on various initiatives, including the implementation of Yukon’s redesigned school curriculum. They presented on how classroom assessment practices, teacher evaluations, school growth plans, technology and learning spaces are changing to meet the needs of Yukon students and school communities. 

The committee also discussed updating their terms of reference and identified key areas to focus on this school year. Topics for this committee this year will include improvements to the external review component of the school growth planning processes, identifying how to bring student voices to this committee and clarifying performance measures (outcomes) to achieve the goals of the education system. The committee will next meet in November 2018.

Through this committee, representatives of all partners in education collaborate and exchange ideas and perspectives about education in Yukon. This work is in addition to the ongoing collaboration about education between the Government of Yukon and these partners, such as government-to-government relations with Yukon First Nations.

Minister of Education Tracy-Anne McPhee

Quick facts 
  • The Advisory committee for Yukon education was formed in January 2016.

  • The committee’s past work has included identifying key themes and priorities from past reports about education in Yukon; exploring and recommending the adoption of Yukon’s modernized school curriculum and giving feedback on professional learning for educators; cultural inclusion standards; school calendars; and school growth planning.

  • The partners represented on this committee include:

    • educators, the Yukon Teachers’ Association and the Association of Yukon School Administrators;
    • Yukon First Nations and the Council of Yukon First Nations;
    • school Councils, the Association of Yukon School Councils, Boards & Committees and the Catholic Education Association of Yukon;
    • Commission scolaire francophone du Yukon – Yukon Francophone School Board;
    • Yukon College; and
    • Department of Education staff, including the Deputy Minister and Assistant Deputy Ministers.
Media contact 

Janine Workman
Cabinet Communications

Maxine White
Communications, Education

News release #: