Building stronger communities across Yukon with federal Gas Tax Fund

Joint news release with the Government of Canada

Investing in local infrastructure supports the unique needs of northern communities. The governments of Canada and Yukon are investing in modern public infrastructure that will help create jobs, while improving Northern Canadians’ quality of life and contributing to stronger communities.

The Government of Canada delivered the first of two $8.25-million annual installments of the federal Gas Tax Fund to Yukon. In total, the territory will be provided with $16.5 million this year through the fund.

The Gas Tax Fund is a long-term, indexed source of funding that supports local infrastructure projects across the Territory each year. The Carcross/Tagish First Nation is planning to put its share into the purchase of a new water delivery truck to continue to provide high quality water services to residents. In the City of Dawson, residents will enjoy an upgraded swimming pool, with improved access to aquatic activities for families and seniors from across the region. In the City of Whitehorse, the funding will go towards new and upgraded multi-use trails to promote active transportation such as walking and biking, encouraging healthy lifestyles.  

Drinking water, recreation and local roads are only three of the 18 project categories eligible for funding under the program. This wide range demonstrates the flexibility of the Gas Tax Fund in allowing communities to direct their allocations to their most pressing local needs.

The Government of Canada is proud to deliver this stable long-term funding that northern communities count on to develop and maintain their public infrastructure. By investing in infrastructure at the local level, the Government of Canada is supporting economic growth while helping create a better quality of life for Yukon residents for generations to come.

The Honourable François-Philippe Champagne, Minister of Infrastructure and Communities

The Gas Tax is great for our communities. It provides reliable funding that Yukon municipalities and First Nations direct towards local infrastructure needs. The benefits go beyond improving infrastructure. These projects are creating jobs and economic opportunities that are helping build healthy, sustainable communities.

The Honourable John Streicker, Minister of Community Services

Quick facts 
  • The two federal Gas Tax Fund installments for this year flow to communities through the territorial government under the Investing in Canada plan.

  • Communities can invest across 18 different project categories. They can also use the funds immediately for priority projects, bank them for later use, pool the dollars with other communities for shared infrastructure projects or use them to finance major infrastructure expenditures.

  • Through its Investing in Canada plan, the Government of Canada will invest more than $180 billion over 12 years in public transit projects, green infrastructure, social infrastructure, trade and transportation routes, and Canada’s rural and northern communities.


Yukon’s 2018-19 federal Gas Tax Fund allocations

The Government of Canada delivered the first of two annual $8.25 million federal Gas Tax Fund installments to Yukon. The funding will flow through the territorial government to the following 8 communities, 14 First Nations, and unincorporated communities. In total, the Gas Tax Fund will provide the territory with over $16.1 million this year for local infrastructure projects. 

2018-19 Gas Tax Fund allocations per community[1]

Ultimate recipient Allocation 2018-19
Carcross/Tagish Frist Nation $294,881
Carmacks, Village of $236,442
Champagne and Aishihik First Nation $458,703
Dawson, City of $827,711
Faro, Town of $236,442
First Nation of Na-Cho Nyäk Dun  $242,700
Haines Junction, Village of  $472,993
Kluane First Nation $166,654
Kwanlin Dün First Nation $356,769
Liard First Nation $410,163
Little Salmon/Carmacks First Nation $259,689
Mayo, Village of $236,442
Ross River Dena Council $239,060
Selkirk First Nation $276,678
Ta'an Kwäch'än Council $204,667
Teslin Tlingit Council $311,061
Teslin, Village of $236,442
Tr'ondëk Hwëch'in $363,241
Unincorporated communities $1,132,600
Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation $319,555
Watson Lake, Town of $827,711
White River First Nation $141,171
Whitehorse, City of $7,928,217

[1] Amounts exclude administrative costs.


Kate Monfette
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Infrastructure and Communities

Bonnie Venton Ross
Communications, Community Services

Infrastructure Canada
Toll free: 1-877-250-7154
Twitter: @INFC_eng
Web: Infrastructure Canada

News release #: