Candidates selected for the Yukon Climate Leadership Council

Eleven individuals with diverse backgrounds, knowledge and expertise have been selected for the territory’s first Yukon Climate Leadership Council.

The Yukon Climate Leadership Council will provide advice to the Government of Yukon on how to reduce the Yukon’s greenhouse gas emissions by 45 per cent compared to 2010 levels.

The Yukon Climate Leadership Council members are:

  • Coral Voss, Yukon Conservation Society;
  • David Silas, Yukon University;
  • Forest Pearson, Sustainable Development Advisory Council;
  • Hector Campbell, Yukon Chamber of Commerce;
  • Kim Lisgo, Yukon University and UAlberta North;
  • Kirsten Hogan, Aperture Consulting;
  • Margret Njootli, retired;
  • Michael Ross, Yukon University, Industrial Research Chair in Northern Energy;
  • Sean Smith, Yukon Native Language Centre;
  • Sruthee Govindaraj, Youth Panel on Climate Change; and
  • Steve Roddick, Resilient North Consulting.

The Council will work in collaboration to develop advice and recommendations for reaching the 45 per cent reduction target by 2030, and will share their report and recommendations publically by July 2022.  The 45 per cent emissions reduction target complements the actions outlined in Our Clean Future: A Yukon strategy for climate change, energy and a green economy.

The Yukon Climate Leadership Council is an element of the Confidence and Supply Agreement and supported by both the Yukon Liberal caucus and the Yukon NDP caucus.

Yukoners have the experience and knowledge needed to play a role in addressing climate change and reducing our emissions as a territory. It is important that we engage and work with them to develop innovative measures that will help us reach our climate goals as communities. I look forward to our shared work on how we can continue to reduce greenhouse gas emissions across the Yukon.

Minister of Environment Nils Clarke

The Yukon is seeing first-hand significant climate and ecological change. There is an urgent need to take actions to shift our energy economy and build our resiliency to the climate crisis. Members of the Yukon Climate Leadership Council will play a critical role in enhancing our climate action plan. I thank them for stepping-up and contributing to our collective efforts to reduce greenhouse gas emissions across the territory.

Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources John Streicker

Yukoners know that strong action needs to be taken to address the climate emergency we are facing. The members of this new Yukon Climate Leadership Council have a big task ahead of them – and I know they’re up to the challenge. We look forward to reading their recommendations for achieving our emission targets and protecting the future of the Yukon.

 MLA for Whitehorse Centre Emily Tredger

Quick facts 
  • Council members’ biographies are available at Climate Change Yukon.

  • A total of 54 people, from a range of backgrounds and expertise areas applied for the Council. The candidates selected for the council were chosen by the Our Clean Future policy implementation committee based on a balance of technical experience, lived experience and traditional knowledge. 

  • The Yukon’s greenhouse gas emissions reduction target was increased from 30 per cent to 45 per cent in April 2021 as part of the Confidence and Supply Agreement.

  • In 2010, Yukon’s emissions were 611 kilotonnes. In the most recent emissions report, the Yukon’s greenhouse gas emissions in 2019, excluding mining emissions, were 721 kilotonnes.

  • The Confidence and Supply Agreement (CASA) was signed by the Liberal and NDP caucuses on April 28, 2021. It is in effect until January 31, 2023.


Renée Francoeur
Cabinet Communications

Saskrita Shrestha
Communications, Environment

News release #: