FireSmart funding program helps 36 groups build wildfire-resilient communities

Municipal and First Nations governments, volunteer fire departments, community associations and non-profits across the Yukon are joining forces with the Government of Yukon’s FireSmart funding program to improve community wildfire resiliency.

Over the coming year, 36 groups will receive a total of $1.1 million in FireSmart funding to remove forest fuels from areas near their communities. The Government of Yukon is investing $850,000 through the FireSmart funding program, and the Government of Canada’s Emergency Management Assistance Program is contributing a further $250,000.

The FireSmart program encourages communities to reduce the risk of a wildfire impacting their neighbourhoods. Firesmart projects are vital to our government’s approach to creating wildfire-resilient communities. With communities leading the way, we can reduce wildfire hazards while respecting local cultural, environmental and socio-economic priorities. 

Minister of Community Services Richard Mostyn

Quick facts 
  • The FireSmart funding program supports forest fuel reduction projects led by local governments and non-profit groups. Launched in 1998, the program has supported Yukon organizations with over $21 million in funding.

  • FireSmart project funding is allocated to projects that will effectively reduce wildfire hazards in communities. Criteria include location, type of treatment, values at risk, benefits to community members, geographical distribution of funds throughout the territory, and the past performance of the project’s proponent.

  • As projects are completed, the Government of Yukon re-allocates unused funds to ensure funding is used effectively and efficiently to continue work in high hazard areas each year.

  • Wildland Fire Management branch’s strategic vision supports FireSmart projects through the creation of Community Wildfire Protection Plans and larger, landscape-level fuel reduction projects such as the Whitehorse South Fuel Break.

  • The following organizations have received program funding for 2021–22:

    • Champagne & Aishihik First Nations;
    • Copper Ridge Neighbourhood Association;
    • Dawson City Fire Department;
    • Elijah Smith Elementary School Council;
    • First Nation of Na-Cho Nyäk Dun;
    • Golden Horn Elementary School Council;
    • Hidden Valley Elementary School Council;
    • Ibex Valley Volunteer Firefighters Society;
    • Junction Arts and Music Society;
    • Keno Community Club;
    • Klondike Valley Firefighters Association;
    • Kluane First Nation;
    • Kwanlin Dün First Nation;
    • Liard First Nation;
    • Little Salmon Carmacks First Nation;
    • Marsh Lake Emergency Services Society;
    • Mary Lake Community Association;
    • McLean Lake Residents’ Association;
    • Mount Lorne Volunteer Fire Department;
    • Pine Ridge Neighbourhood Association;
    • Porter Creek Community Association;
    • Porter Creek Secondary School Council;
    • Riverdale Community Association;
    • Ross River Dena Council;
    • Selkirk First Nation;
    • Spruce Hill Community Association;
    • Ta’an Kwäch’än Council;
    • Tagish Volunteer Fire Department Society;
    • Teslin Tlingit Council;
    • Town of Faro;
    • Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in;
    • Village of Haines Junction;
    • Village of Teslin;
    • Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation;
    • White River First Nation; and
    • Wolf Creek Community Association.

Renée Francoeur
Cabinet Communications

Julia Duchesne
Communications, Community Services

News release #: