New leadership for the Yukon Housing Corporation

Premier Sandy Silver announced today that Mary Cameron will be acting president of the Yukon Housing Corporation.

Cameron was appointed following Pamela Hine’s announcement that she is leaving the Corporation to take on a new role at the Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation (CMHC). Hine has been with the Government of Yukon since 2007.

Cameron began her public service career in Yukon as the director of capacity development with the Carcross/Tagish First Nation. In 2013 she moved to the Yukon Housing Corporation where she was the director of community partnering and lending before becoming the vice-president of corporate services in 2016. Previous to joining the public service, she was the principal of St. Margaret’s School in Victoria, British Columbia. Cameron has a bachelor of education from the University of Victoria, a certificate in risk management from the University of Toronto and a master's in administration and supervision from the University of Phoenix.

Cameron will assume the role for 12 months starting on April 10.

Mary Cameron has a strong track record as a highly effective senior leader with the Yukon Housing Corporation and I look forward to continuing to work with her on the many initiatives under Yukon’s Housing Action Plan. I would like to sincerely thank Pam Hine for her support and leadership and I wish her every success in her future endeavours.

Premier Sandy Silver

I want to thank Pam Hine for her years of leadership at the Yukon Housing Corporation. Through her work in both Nunavut and Yukon, Pam has been a tireless public servant, dedicated to improving housing in Canada’s northern territories. The corporation has achieved much during her tenure. I look forward to working closely with Mary Cameron to continue this important work.

Minister responsible for the Yukon Housing Corporation Pauline Frost

Quick facts 
  • Deputy ministers, including presidents of crown corporations, are the most senior public servants in Government of Yukon departments. They are responsible for the department’s budget, day-to-day operations and program development.

  • Deputy ministers serve at the pleasure of the Premier and take direction from the Minister responsible for their department.


Matthew Cameron
Cabinet Communications

Pamela Muir
Public Service Commissioner

News release #: