School Council seats still open for upcoming school years

School Council seats are still open at some Yukon schools and the Government of Yukon is encouraging community members to get involved.

School Councils are responsible for providing input on school growth planning, school-based policies, hiring of the school principal and spending of the school budget. They provide advice on school staffing needs, programming, renovations, course offerings and student transportation.

To join a School Council, eligible candidates are typically nominated to participate in a School Council election, held every two years in the spring. The most recent School Council election took place on May 7, 2018.

Citizens who are interested in joining their local School Council but did not participate in the election process can still join. School Councils can nominate eligible individuals to be appointed to the council by the Minister of Education. For School Councils with guaranteed representatives from local First Nations, individuals are nominated by the respective First Nation to occupy these positions.

Contact your local School Council or First Nation for more information. You can also contact the Department of Education at 867-667-5141.

School Councils are a great way for community members to get involved in supporting children’s education. They are an important part of ensuring the community has a say in decisions that affect our schools and learning outcomes for students. I encourage anyone interested in playing a more active part in education and school culture to get involved. Your school community needs you!

Minister of Education Tracy-Anne McPhee

Quick facts 
  • School Councils have regular seats and some have guaranteed seats for Yukon First Nations.

  • At the conclusion of the May 2018 election, 42 regular seats and 19 guaranteed seats for Yukon First Nations are left to be filled. While some appointments from School Councils have been received, there remain vacancies and community members are encouraged to get involved.

  • School Councils left with vacancies after the May 2018 election are:

    • F.H. Collins Secondary School: Five vacant seats;
    • St. Elias Community School: Three vacant seats;
    • Whitehorse Elementary School: Three vacant seats;
    • Selkirk Elementary School: One vacant seat;
    • Ghùch Tlâ Community School: One vacant seat;
    • Chief Zzeh Gittlit School: Three vacant seats;
    • Ross River School: Four vacant seats;
    • Takhini Elementary School: Four vacant seats;
    • Eliza Van Bibber School: Two vacant seats;
    • Nelnah Bessie John School: Two vacant seats;
    • Porter Creek Secondary School: Six vacant seats;
    • Jack Hulland Elementary School: Four vacant seats;
    • Elijah Smith Elementary School: Two vacant seats; and
    • Kluane Lake School: Two vacant seats.
  • School Council members may receive paid honoraria for their participation on School Council.

  • School Councils are required to meet at least four times during the school year, but many meet once a month. School Councils meetings will resume following the start of the 2018–19 school year in August. Check with your School Council for meeting dates, times and locations.


Sunny Patch
Cabinet Communications

Kyle Nightingale
Communications, Education

News release #: