Students Financial Assistance Committee

  • About the Students Financial Assistance Committee
  • Apply to be a member
  • Current members

  1. About the Students Financial Assistance Committee

    The Committee acts as a selection committee for scholarships and as an appeal board for students whose applications were rejected by the Students Financial Services Officer.

    • Authority: Students Financial Assistance Act, ss.6(1)
    • Type: adjudicative 
    • Appointment process: Order-In-Council
    • Requirements: no legislated criteria required to join
    • Term: 3 years and may be reappointed for further term
    • Meetings: as required
    • Department: Education
    • Honoraria: $75 per day

  2. Apply to be a member

    Any Yukon resident is eligible to apply to serve on a government board or committee.


    1. Complete the application.
    2. Prepare a brief resume. This should include information relevant for sitting on the board or committee.
    3. Submit your completed application and resume.
      In person: Inquiry Desk at 2071 Second Avenue in Whitehorse. We are open Monday to Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Address your envelope "Attention: Boards and Committees Secretariat (CM-1)"
      Government of Yukon
      Boards and Committees Secretariat (CM-1)
      Box 2703
      Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2C6

    How members are selected

    Members are appointed by a Minister, Cabinet or the Legislative Assembly.

    School board and school council members can be elected or, in some cases, appointed.

    Appointments to these boards are based on standing committee recommendations:

    • Yukon Development Corporation
    • Yukon Energy Corporation
    • Yukon Workers' Compensation Health and Safety Board
    • Yukon Lottery Commission
    • Yukon Recreation Advisory Committee
    • Yukon Arts Advisory Council
    • Yukon Utilities Board
    • Yukon Council on the Economy and the Environment
    • Yukon Human Rights Commission

    Some boards and committees members are required to hold certain professional qualifications or affiliations.

  3. Current members
    • Andrew Johnston, member from February 13, 2019 to February 12, 2022
    • Gordon (Sandy) Waston member from September 3, 2020 to September 2, 2023
    • Jane Londero, member from January 11, 2021 to January 10, 2024
    • Kelly McGill, member from September 3, 2020 to September 2, 2023 and chair from November 26, 2020 to September 2, 2023
    • Meagan Timmons, member from January 11, 2021 to January 10, 2024
    • Pat Cassidy, member from February 6, 2020 to February 5, 2023


For questions about the Students Financial Assistance Committee phone 867-667-5141, or fax 867-667-8555, or toll free in Yukon 1-800-661-0408, ext. 5141