Information current as of

Friday, May 29, 2020 ‒ 10:20

COVID-19 travel information specifically for Yukoners

April 17,  2020 – New border control measures come into force

A new Border Control Measures Order to strengthen enforcement at all Yukon borders during the COVID-19 emergency is now in force.

Minister of Community Services John Streicker signed the Ministerial Order under the Civil Emergency Measures Act as a means to ensure that enforcement officers stationed at Yukon’s borders have the legal authority and tools needed to deny entry to non-essential travelers while still permitting essential and critical services and people to return home.

Read the news release. 

April 2,  2020 – Emergency measures and guidance to protect Yukoners from the spread of COVID-19 announced today

The Government of Yukon is protecting Yukoners from the spread of COVID-19 by introducing Civil Emergency Measures Health Protection (COVID-19) Orders. This now ensures that orders given by the Chief Medical Officer of Health are enforceable under the Civil Emergency Measures Act. Today’s action also defines critical and essential services in a new set of guidelines. The guidelines will provide Yukoners and critical service providers the clarity needed to determine who can safely travel and work throughout the territory.

Read the news release. 

March 22, 2020 – Non-essential travel outside of territory and into rural Yukon

In an effort to limit the spread of COVID-19 and to protect Yukon’s most vulnerable citizens, Yukon’s Chief Medical Officer of Health strongly advises the suspension of all non-essential travel into and out of Yukon. All Yukoners planning to return home in the next 30 days are advised to return now.

In view of the need to protect remote areas with limited medical resources, Yukon’s Chief Medical Officer of Health strongly advises the suspension of any non-essential travel to Yukon’s rural communities.

Read the news release.

March 20, 2020 – Information for Yukoners on Canada-US border restrictions

Canada and the United States are temporarily restricting all non-essential travel across its borders to limit the spread of COVID-19. This is a precautionary measure, in line with the directions on social distancing that are being given by health officials across the country.

Starting at 9 p.m. PDT Friday, March 20, 2020, discretionary, recreational and tourist travel between Canada and the US will no longer be allowed, including Yukon-Alaska border crossings. This will last for 30 days and means Yukoners will not be able to cross the border for recreational activities such as skiing.

Read the news release.

March 20, 2020 – Non-essential international travel

On the advice of the Chief Public Health Officer of Canada, Yukon’s Chief Medical Officer of Health, Dr. Brendan Hanley, is advising all Yukoners to cancel or postpone all non-essential travel outside of Canada, including the United States.

Read the news release.

After you return to Yukon

For 14 days after leaving your destination, monitor yourself for a

  • cough;
  • fever; or
  • difficulty breathing.

If you develop any of these symptoms, stay home and self-isolate. Learn about self-isolating, self-monitoring and isolation.

Contact the following for testing

In Whitehorse
  • Your health care provider
  • Yukon Communicable Disease Control (YCDC)
    • Phone 867-667-8323
    • Phone toll free 1-800-661-0408 extension 8323
In the communities

Phone a health centre.

Avoid contact with other people to prevent the spread of disease in your home and in your community.

If your symptoms become severe, phone 911.

Trips for Yukon schools

The Government of Yukon has cancelled all school trips, including trips to Alaska. This decision is based on the advice of Yukon’s Deputy Chief Medical Officer of Health, Dr. Catherine Elliott.

Classes are suspended at all Yukon public schools until April 15, or until further notice.

Contact: 

If you have a question email covid19info@gov.yk.ca.

Dernière mise à jour

Vendredi 29 mai 2020 – 10 h 20

COVID-19 et déplacements : le point au Yukon

17 avril 2020 – 15 h 09 – Entrée en vigueur de nouvelles mesures de contrôle aux frontières

Une nouvelle ordonnance visant à renforcer les contrôles aux frontières du Yukon pendant la pandémie de COVID-19 est entrée en vigueur.

M. John Streicker, ministre des Services aux collectivités, a signé l’arrêté ministériel, en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures civiles d’urgence, afin de donner aux agents frontaliers du Yukon l’autorité légale et les outils dont ils ont besoin pour interdire les entrées non essentielles sur le territoire, tout en autorisant les entrées essentielles ou vitales et le retour des résidents.

Lire le communiqué de presse

2 avril  2020 – Mesures d’urgence et directives pour protéger le public contre la propagation de la COVID-19

Pour protéger la population locale contre la propagation de la COVID-19, le gouvernement du Yukon émet des ordonnances sur les mesures civiles d’urgence en matière de protection de la santé publique contre le coronavirus. Les ordonnances du médecin hygiéniste en chef deviennent ainsi exécutoires en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures civiles d’urgence. Cette démarche prise aujourd’hui permet également de définir dans de nouvelles directives ce qui constitue des services essentiels et de première nécessité. Grâce à ces directives, le public yukonnais et les travailleurs des services essentiels seront mieux à même de déterminer s’ils peuvent travailler et se déplacer dans le territoire en toute sécurité.

Lire le communiqué de presse.

22 mars 2020 – Déplacements non obligatoires à l’extérieur du territoire et dans les collectivités rurales du Yukon

Afin de limiter la propagation de la COVID-19 au territoire et de protéger les citoyens les plus vulnérables, le médecin hygiéniste en chef recommande la suspension de tout déplacement non obligatoire à destination ou en provenance du Yukon. Tous les résidents qui prévoyaient de revenir au territoire au cours des 30 prochains jours sont tenus de le faire dès maintenant.

Dans le but de protéger les collectivités rurales dont les ressources médicales sont limitées, le médecin hygiéniste en chef demande l’annulation de tout déplacement non obligatoire dans ces régions éloignées.

Lire le communiqué de presse.

20 mars 2020 – Restrictions frontalières entre le Canada et les États-Unis : informations aux Yukonnais

Le Canada et les États-Unis restreignent temporairement tous les passages non essentiels de la frontière de manière à limiter la propagation de la COVID-19. Il s’agit d’une mesure de précaution en accord avec les directives de distanciation sociale émanant des représentants du secteur de la santé à l’échelle nationale.

À compter de 21 h HAP le vendredi 20 mars 2020, et ce, pour une durée de 30 jours, les déplacements non obligatoires, récréatifs et touristiques entre le Canada et les États-Unis ne seront plus permis, y compris entre le Yukon et l’Alaska. Les Yukonnais ne pourront donc plus traverser la frontière à des fins récréatives, comme le ski.

Lire le communiqué de presse.

20 mars 2020 – Déplacements internationaux non essentiels

Sur les recommandations de l’administratrice en chef de la santé publique du Canada, le Dr Brendan Hanley, médecin hygiéniste en chef du Yukon, recommande aux Yukonnais d’annuler ou de reporter tout déplacement non essentiel à l’extérieur du Canada, y compris aux États-Unis.

Lire le communiqué de presse.

Retour au Yukon

Pour une période de 14 jours après avoir quitté votre destination, surveillez l’apparition de :

  • toux;
  • fièvre;
  • difficultés à respirer.

Si vous présentez l’un de ces symptômes, restez à la maison et isolez-vous. Apprenez la différence entre l’auto-surveillance, l’auto-isolement et l’isolement.

 

Contactez les ressources suivantes pour être testé

À Whitehorse
  • Votre professionnel de la santé
  • Centre de lutte contre les maladies transmissibles (CLMT)
    • Téléphone : 867-667-8323
    • Sans frais : 1-800-661-0408, poste 8323
Dans les collectivités

Appelez un centre de santé.

Évitez tout contact avec d’autres personnes pour empêcher la propagation de la maladie au sein de votre domicile et dans votre collectivité.

Si vos symptômes s’aggravent, composez le 911.

Voyages scolaires

Le gouvernement du Yukon a annulé tous les voyages scolaires, y compris les voyages en Alaska. Cette décision est fondée sur l’avis de l’adjointe au bureau du médecin hygiéniste en chef du Yukon, Dre Catherine Elliott.

Les cours sont suspendus dans toutes les écoles publiques du Yukon jusqu’au 15 avril ou jusqu’à nouvel ordre.

Renseignements: 

Des questions? Écrire à covid19info@gov.yk.ca.