Page updated

Tuesday, May 26, 2020 ‒ 16:00

Guidelines for information sharing and engagement on provision of services in Yukon's rural communities in COVID-19

Critical, essential and non-essential services in Yukon communities

Yukon’s Chief Medical Officer of Health has strongly recommended against non-essential travel to and from Yukon’s rural communities and has outlined guidance for those providing services there. This includes a recommendation that service providers engage with local or municipal and First Nations governments before they enter the community to provide them with an opportunity to share information and engage on the delivery of critical, essential and non-essential services within their communities.

In addition to working closely with municipal and local governments, the Government of Yukon will also work with First Nation governments in order to make effective use of resources, and share in our collective responsibilities to respond to this dynamic and evolving situation, consistent with Final and Self-Government Agreements.

To streamline this coordination the Government of Yukon has established Aboriginal Relations liaisons and will use exisiting community advisors to act as single point of contact within the Government of Yukon for coordinating responses.

Download the Direction and guidelines for the delivery of critical, essential and other services.

Read the full Civil Emergency Measures Health Protection (COVID-19) Order.

The following process will be put in place for the Government of Yukon to support this engagement, and it's recommended for all service providers:

  1. A team of Government of Yukon representatives will be established to manage engagement between government and non-government service providers, First Nations and communities. The Department of Community Services (Community Affairs Branch) and Executive Council Office (Aboriginal Relations Branch) will identify a liaison for each municipal or local government and First Nations government. Other staff within the Government of Yukon will be brought into discussions as needed.
  2. The liaison will present the Government of Yukon’s planned work and activities to each community and First Nations government for discussion.
  3. The liaison will assist the municipal or local governments and First Nations governments, at their request, in engagements on any planned work and activities not led by the Government of Yukon.
  4. A risk matrix will be developed to help ensure that potential impacts are consistently and thoroughly considered. The liaison staff will work with communities, First Nations governments and and other government departments to develop assessment tools for this purpose as well as mitigation strategies.

The following key principles will guide engagement:

  • Protection of Yukon’s rural communities and their residents is the foremost priority.
  • First Nations governments and municipal or local governments must have an opportunity to be engaged.
  • Decisions must allow Yukon’s business and commerce to continue as much as possible while balancing risk.
  • Decisions will consider the unique Yukon context and may not be consistent with what is taking place in other jurisdictions.

Renseignements à jour

23 octobre 2020

COVID-19 – Levée des restrictions : Le Yukon est à l’étape 3 depuis le 1er août. Voir les mises à jour vidéo sur la COVID-19. Questions médicales : 811 ou utilisez l’outil d’auto-évaluation.
Un avis d’exposition a été émis le 23 octobre 2020.

Lignes directrices sur la transmission d’informations et la consultation en lien avec la prestation de services dans les collectivités rurales du Yukon pendant la pandémie de COVID-19

Critical, essential and non-essential services in Yukon communities

Le médecin hygiéniste en chef du Yukon a fortement recommandé de ne pas faire de déplacements non essentiels à destination et en provenance des collectivités rurales du territoire. Il a également élaboré des lignes directrices pour les travailleurs offrant des services à ces endroits, dont une recommandation selon laquelle les fournisseurs de services devraient communiquer avec les administrations locales, municipales ou autochtones avant d’entrer dans les localités, de façon à leur donner l’occasion d’échanger des informations et de donner leur avis sur la prestation de services indispensables, essentiels et non essentiels dans leurs collectivités respectives.

En plus de collaborer étroitement avec les administrations locales et municipales, le gouvernement du Yukon travaille avec les gouvernements autochtones pour faire à une utilisation efficace des ressources à mesure que nous assumerons nos responsabilités collectives face à cette situation en pleine évolution, conformément aux accords définitifs et aux ententes d’autonomie gouvernementale qui ont été conclus.

Pour faciliter cette coordination, le gouvernement du Yukon a établi des agents de liaison pour les relations avec les Autochtones, et il demande aux actuels conseillers auprès des collectivités d’agir comme point de contact unique au sein du gouvernement pour coordonner les interventions.

Télécharger le document Orientations et lignes directrices pour la prestation de services vitaux, essentiels et autres.

Lire l’ordonnance sur les mesures civiles d’urgence en matière de protection de la santé publique contre le coronavirus.

Le processus qui suit est mis en place par le gouvernement du Yukon pour favoriser la consultation, et il est recommandé pour tous les fournisseurs de services :

  1. Une équipe de représentants du gouvernement du Yukon sera formée pour encadrer la consultation entre les collectivités, les Premières nations et les fournisseurs de services gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux. Le ministère des Services aux collectivités (Direction des affaires communautaires) et le ministère du Conseil exécutif (Division des relations avec les Autochtones) désigneront un agent de liaison pour chaque administration municipale, locale autochtone. Au besoin, d’autres employés du gouvernement sont intégrés aux discussions.
  2. L’agent de liaison présente le plan de travail et d’activités du gouvernement du Yukon à chaque collectivité et gouvernement autochtone, à des fins de discussion.
  3. L’agent de liaison aidera – sur demande – les administrations municipales, locales et autochtones dans les consultations portant sur toute activité non pilotée par le gouvernement du Yukon.
  4. Une matrice des risques sera élaborée pour assurer un examen uniforme et rigoureux des conséquences possibles. L’agent de liaison travaillera avec les collectivités, les gouvernements autochtones et les ministères pour concevoir des outils d’évaluation à cette fin, de même que des stratégies d’atténuation des risques.

Voici les principes phares qui guideront les activités de consultation :

  • La grande priorité, c’est de protéger les collectivités rurales du Yukon et leurs résidents.
  • Les gouvernements autochtones et les administrations municipales ou locales doivent avoir l’occasion de donner leur avis.
  • Les décisions doivent permettre aux entreprises et aux commerces du Yukon de poursuivre leurs activités autant que possible, tout en tenant compte des risques.
  • Les décisions seront adaptées au contexte particulier du Yukon et pourraient ne pas cadrer avec ce qui se fait ailleurs au Canada.