Travel safely in the Yukon wilderness

Hiking in Tombstone Territorial Park.

Yukon is a true wilderness. Vast areas are completely undeveloped, and most of the territory is outside of cell phone range. If you plan to go out into the backcountry, you're going to be a long way from help. All backcountry campers, hikers and visitors travel at their own risk and responsibility.

Read Into the Yukon Wilderness for an introduction to safety in the outdoors. This guide is available in EnglishFrenchGerman and Japanese, and can be found at all Visitor Information Centres and Department of Environment offices.

If you have any doubts about your abilities, consider a guided trip. There are many licensed wilderness guiding companies that can provide a safe, memorable experience.

How to travel safely in the Yukon wilderness

The following guidelines are a good starting point for safe travel in Yukon's backcountry. This is not an exhaustive list, and following these guidelines does not guarantee safety.

Ensure you have the necessary backcountry skills 

If you start a river trip, hiking trip or other expedition with no skills or experience, you’re putting yourself and other members of your party at risk. The best thing to do is take a course in outdoor recreation skills, or learn from an experienced friend, before starting your trip.

Never travel alone 

If at all possible never travel alone. Go at the speed of the slowest person, and do not get separated. Keep in eyesight of each other when traveling.

Plan your route in advance 

There are very few marked trails or boating routes in Yukon. There are no warning signs before rapids, treacherous terrain or other hazards. Plan your route by picking up a guidebook, buying the topographic maps for your area ahead of time, and talking to someone who has already travelled the route. Staff at Visitor Information Centres or Department of Environment offices may be able to help.

Give someone your travel plan

Whether you are going for an hour trail run, leaving your campsite to canoe for the day, or spending a week in the backcountry, how will anyone know if something has gone wrong? Telling others where you are, where you are going and when you’ll be back is critical should you need help.   
  1. Create a trip plan or fill out an online trip plan in advance of your trip. Include your travel route, schedule, the number of people in your party and the colour of tents, backpacks and other equipment. Search and rescue efforts depend on the details in your trip plan. Be specific.  
  2. Email or print your plan and give it to someone in Yukon who will call 911 if you are not back by your planned return date or if you miss a scheduled check in.

Carry essential gear 

Take basic survival items for all outdoor activities, and add safety and seasonal items for your specific activity, such as repair kits for boating or avalanche rescue gear for skiing. Practice using your gear before your trip.

Keep your survival kit with you in a day pack or belt bag:

  • Flashlight or headlamp, with extra batteries
  • Fire-making kit
  • Signaling device (such as a whistle)
  • Extra water and food
  • Clothing to protect you from rain, wind and hypothermia
  • Navigation and communications aids
  • First aid kit
  • Emergency shelter (an orange tarp or blanket provides visibility)
  • Pocket knife
  • Sun protection
  • Bear deterrent
Check this list of essential gear for outdoor travel for more ideas on what to pack. 

Prepare for steep terrain, adverse weather conditions and encounters with wildlife

Bring the proper gear and know how to use it. This is not the time to break in new hiking boots, or learn how to use a compass or an avalanche probe and beacon. 

Before you head out, check for emergency updates that could impact your trip, such as avalanches, wildfires, floods, earthquakes and road closures.

Respect wildlife by observing from a distance, never feeding them, keeping your pets on a leash and under control, and learning about bear safety.

Understand bear safety 

Learn how to prevent bear encounters, identify bears' presence, and what to do if you see a bear. Travel in groups. Make noise to alert bears of your presence. Loud talking or singing is better than using bear bells. Pack your food in bear-proof canisters. Cook and store your food well away from your camp (100 m), preferably downwind. At night, use a rope to hang your food from a tree at least 2.5 m (7 ft) from the ground. Never eat or store food in your tent. Consider bringing a can of bear spray and other bear deterrents such as bear bangers or an air horn, and learn how to use them. See bear safety for more details.

Prepare for medical emergencies 

In Yukon's backcountry, you are far from help and rescue. You must be prepared to handle injuries and other medical emergencies on your own. Ensure all members of your group are trained in wilderness first aid. Be aware of allergies and health conditions. Be prepared to treat stings and insect bites. Know how to prevent, identify and treat hypothermia. Carry supplies and equipment appropriate for wilderness first aid in a waterproof kit.

Prepare for rescue if necessary 

If you follow the basics of wilderness safety. If a rescue is required, you need to be able to make contact with rescuers.

Make sure you have a satellite phone, two-way personal locator beacon, or radio that can make contact with emergency services in case you need them. Learn more about contacting emergency services.

You should also carry a signal mirror, whistle or flares for helping rescuers pinpoint your location. Learn more about signaling for help.

Important tips
  • Not all personal locator beacons allow you to communicate directly with emergency services, some just broadcast a distress signal. Additionally, messages from personal locator beacons do not go directly to Yukon Emergency Services. They are answered and relayed by call centres, which could delay response.
  • If you carry a distress beacon of any sort, once you turn on it on, rescue efforts begin immediately. Mounting a rescue takes hundreds of person-hours and costs can run into the hundreds of thousands of dollars. Only activate it if necessary.
  • Rescue will not be immediate. Depending on the terrain, weather condition, and remoteness of your location, it will likely take rescuers hours or even days to reach you.
  • Some satellite phones won’t dial 3-digit phone numbers. If you are in Yukon and can’t call 911, use 867-667-5555.

Follow "leave no trace" practices 

By planning to leave no trace as you travel, you will help keep Yukon green and pristine, and minimize damage to our delicate, slow-growing northern ecosystem. Find leave no trace principles at Leave No Trace Canada.

More information on safe wilderness travel

Adventuresmart.ca also has useful tips and resources on safe wilderness travel.

Contact: 

If you have further questions about how to travel safely in Yukon wilderness or where to find resources to make your trip safer, email environmentyukon@gov.yk.ca or phone 867-667-5652 or toll free in Yukon 1-800-661-0408, ext. 5652.

Se déplacer en toute sécurité dans la nature sauvage

Hiking in Tombstone Territorial Park.

Au Yukon, la nature est véritablement sauvage : de vastes étendues sont encore vierges et la portée des réseaux cellulaires ne se limite qu’à une fraction du territoire. Vous comptez vous aventurer dans l’arrière-pays? Sachez qu’en cas de besoin, les secours seront très loin. Campeurs, randonneurs et visiteurs : vous êtes responsables de vos déplacements. Ils se font à vos risques et périls.

Lisez le guide Dans la nature sauvage du Yukon, disponible en anglais, en français, en allemand et en japonais. Vous pouvez vous en procurer un exemplaire dans les centres d’information touristique ou dans les bureaux d’Environnement Yukon.

Si vous doutez de vos capacités, songez à vous joindre à une excursion guidée. Il y a de nombreuses entreprises spécialisées qui vous feront vivre une expérience mémorable en toute sécurité.

Comment éviter les dangers

Les principes ci-après sont un excellent point de départ pour des déplacements sûrs dans l’arrière-pays. La liste n’est toutefois pas exhaustive et il est impossible de garantir votre sécurité, même si vous les suivez à la lettre.

Développez vos compétences

Si vous faites une excursion en rivière, une randonnée ou toute autre expédition pour la première fois sans vous y être d’abord bien préparé, vous et les membres de votre groupe êtes en danger. Avant de vous lancer à l’aventure, suivez un cours pour acquérir les habiletés nécessaires au plein air ou demandez l’aide d’un ami expérimenté.

Ne voyagez jamais seul 

Dans la mesure du possible, soyez toujours accompagné lors de vos déplacements. Marchez au pas de la personne la plus lente et restez toujours groupé. Ayez toujours un œil sur les membres de votre groupe.

Planifiez votre itinéraire 

Il y a très peu de voies navigables ou de sentiers balisés au Yukon. Il n’y a pas non plus de panneaux pour vous avertir des dangers que vous rencontrerez (rapides, zones accidentées, etc.). Planifiez votre itinéraire à l’aide de guides touristiques, de cartes topographiques (ne les achetez pas à la dernière minute) ou des conseils d’une personne qui a déjà fait ce parcours. Les employés des centres d’information touristique ou des bureaux d’Environnement Yukon peuvent vous aider.

Donnez une copie de votre plan de voyage à un proche

Que ce soit une randonnée d’une heure, une journée de canot ou une semaine dans l’arrière-pays, il faut toujours qu’une personne soit au courant de vos déplacements et de votre date de retour pour appeler les secours en cas d’urgence.

  1. Préparez un plan de voyage sur papier ou en ligne. Celui-ci devrait indiquer votre itinéraire, votre emploi du temps, le nombre de participants et la couleur de votre matériel (tentes, sacs à dos, etc.) Soyez précis : le succès des opérations de recherche et de sauvetage dépend des détails que vous aurez fournis.
  2. Envoyez votre plan par courriel, ou donnez-le en main propre, à un proche qui habite au Yukon. Cette personne pourra appeler le 911 si vous n’êtes pas de retour au moment prévu ou si vous ne donnez pas de nouvelles au moment convenu.

Apportez le matériel indispensable

Apportez toujours du matériel de base pour la survie, peu importe l’activité extérieure que vous pratiquez, et n’oubliez pas les articles spécifiques à votre sport et à la saison en cours (ex. trousse de réparation pour la navigation de plaisance, équipement de secours en cas d’avalanche pour le ski). Familiarisez-vous avec votre équipement avant de partir.

Gardez votre trousse de survie dans votre sac à dos ou à votre ceinture :

  • Lampe de poche ou frontale, avec piles supplémentaires;
  • De quoi faire du feu;
  • Appareil de signalisation (ex. sifflet)
  • Nourriture et eau supplémentaires;
  • Vêtements de protection contre la pluie, le vent et le froid;
  • Aides à la navigation et à la communication;
  • Trousse de premiers soins;
  • Abri de secours (préférablement visible, comme une bâche ou une couverture orange);
  • Couteau de poche;
  • Protection contre le soleil;
  • Moyen de dissuasion contre les ours.

Consultez cette liste d’objets essentiels pour plus de renseignements sur le matériel à apporter.

Soyez prêt à toute éventualité (terrain escarpé, mauvais temps, animaux sauvages)

Il est important d’apporter l’équipement approprié et de savoir s’en servir. Ce n’est pas le moment d’utiliser vos nouvelles bottes de randonnée pour la première fois ou d’apprendre à utiliser une boussole, une sonde à avalanche ou un détecteur de victime d’avalanche (DVA).

Avant de partir, jetez un œil aux informations en situation d’urgence pour vérifier si vos plans risquent de devoir changer en raison d’une situation hors de votre contrôle (avalanche, feu de forêt, inondation, tremblement de terre ou fermeture de route).

Faites preuve de respect envers les animaux sauvages : gardez vos distances, ne les nourrissez pas, surveillez vos animaux de compagnie et gardez-les en laisse. Informez-vous sur la sécurité au pays des ours.

Faites preuve de prudence au pays des ours

Apprenez à éviter et à gérer les rencontres avec les ours et à détecter leur présence. Déplacez-vous en groupe. Faites du bruit pour signaler votre présence. Il vaut mieux parler ou chanter bruyamment que d’utiliser des clochettes. Placez votre nourriture dans des contenants hermétiques à l’épreuve des ours. Cuisinez et conservez les aliments à bonne distance (100 m) de votre campement, idéalement dans la direction du vent. La nuit, utilisez une corde pour suspendre la nourriture à un arbre, à au moins 2,5 m (7 pi) du sol. N’apportez jamais de nourriture dans votre tente. Songez à apporter un vaporisateur anti-ours ou tout autre moyen de dissuasion (artifice d’effarouchement ou avertisseur à air comprimé), et apprenez à vous en servir. Pour en savoir plus, consultez la page Web La sécurité au pays des ours.

Soyez prêt en cas d’urgence médicale. 

Lorsque vous être en plein cœur de l’arrière-pays yukonnais, vous êtes bien loin des secours. Vous devez être en mesure de soigner les blessures et de faire face aux urgences médicales. Tous les membres de votre groupe doivent avoir des notions de secourisme en milieu sauvage. Vous devez savoir si certains parmi vous souffrent d’allergies ou ont des problèmes de santé. Soyez en mesure de traiter les piqûres et les morsures d’insectes. Sachez prévenir, diagnostiquer et traiter l’hypothermie. Ayez avec vous une trousse de premiers soins imperméable qui contient tous les articles nécessaires pour les soins en milieu sauvage.

Préparez-vous aux situations de sauvetage

Si vous respectez les principes de sécurité en milieu sauvage, les probabilités que vous deviez être secouru sont minces; il est toutefois important de s’y préparer. Sachez comment appeler à l’aide.

Munissez-vous d’un téléphone satellite, d’une balise de détresse ou d’une radio qui vous permettra de communiquer avec les services d’urgence. Pour en savoir plus

Un miroir, un sifflet et des fusées éclairantes sont aussi des incontournables à avoir avec vous. Ils aideront les sauveteurs à vous repérer. Pour en savoir plus

Important
  • Les balises de détresse ne permettent pas toutes de parler directement avec les services d’urgence. Certaines n’enverront qu’un signal de détresse. De plus, les messages envoyés par ces dispositifs n’arrivent pas directement aux services d’urgence du Yukon. Ils peuvent transiter par des centres d’appel qui les relayeront, retardant ainsi le début de l’intervention.
  • L’opération de sauvetage commence dès que la balise de détresse est activée. Des centaines d’heures-personnes seront engagées et des milliers de dollars seront dépensés. N’activez votre balise que lorsque la situation l’exige réellement.
  • Les sauveteurs n’arriveront pas immédiatement, ils prendront des heures, voire des jours pour arriver jusqu’à vous. Le terrain, les conditions météorologiques, la difficulté d’accès du lieu où vous vous trouvez sont tous des facteurs qui influenceront le temps qu’il leur faudra.
  • Certains téléphones satellites ne composent pas les numéros de téléphone à trois chiffres. Si vous êtes au Yukon et ne parvenez pas à appeler le 911, composez le 867-667-5555.

Appliquez les principes d’éthique du plein air (Sans trace)

En planifiant des déplacements à faible impact sur l’environnement, vous contribuez à préserver l’intégrité de la nature yukonnaise et à réduire la dégradation de l’écosystème nordique qui est déjà fragile et dont la croissance est très lente. Lisez les principes du programme Sans trace.

Pour en savoir plus

Rendez-vous sur le site Adventuresmart.ca pour des conseils et des ressources pratiques sur la sécurité lors de déplacements en plein air.

Renseignements: 

Si vous avez des questions à propos des déplacements dans la nature sauvage ou des ressources à votre disposition, écrivez à environmentyukon@gov.yk.ca ou téléphonez au 867-667-5652 ou (sans frais au Yukon) au 1-800-661-0408, poste 5652.