Environment Ministers meet in Whitehorse

Photo credit Government of Yukon

The Canadian Council for Ministers of Environment (CCME), comprising federal, provincial and territorial Environment Ministers, held their annual meeting in Whitehorse today.

Together, the Ministers released A Roadmap to Strengthen the Management of Single-use and Disposable Plastics as a part of CCME’s implementation of the Canada-wide Action Plan on Zero Plastic Waste.

Yesterday, Ministers met with national Indigenous leaders and Yukon First Nation leaders on environmental issues of mutual interest.

Environment Minister Nils Clarke now passes the presidency of CCME to Ontario Environment Minister David Piccini.

I am pleased to be able to welcome my colleagues to Whitehorse to advance our shared work in fighting climate change, reducing our emissions and protecting our environment for future generations of Canadians. It is important that we continue to work with First Nation partners in the Yukon, and across the country, to address our changing climate. I look forward to our continued collaboration on key initiatives, such as reducing plastic waste, as we work to protect our water, land and air.

Minister of Environment Nils Clarke

Quick facts 
  • CCME is the primary minister-led intergovernmental forum for collective action on environmental issues of national and international concern.

  • CCME includes the environment ministers from the federal, provincial and territorial governments.

  • CCME was founded in 1964.


Renée Francoeur
Cabinet Communications


Brittanee Stewart
Communications, Environment

News release #: