The Government of Yukon recognizes excellence in mining practices

The winners of the 2022 Robert E. Leckie Awards were announced at the 50th Annual Geoscience Forum & Trade Show banquet last evening. This year’s recipients are Parker Schnabel and Guy and Lisa Favron.

The Award for Excellence in Environmental Stewardship was presented to Parker Schnabel for the reclamation work at the Little Flake placer mine and legacy areas mined by previous generations. The operation stands as a prime example of how a placer mine can be progressively reclaimed or cleaned up as work is underway.

Guy and Lisa Favron at Favron Enterprises received the Award for Responsible and Innovative Exploration and Mining Practices for their ongoing reclamation work on their property at Sulphur Creek. They are leaders when it comes to progressive reclamation and recognized as going above and beyond what they are expected to do. As well, the Favrons sought permission to use the lumber on their claim to heat their home and shop in Dawson.

Congratulations to Parker Schnabel and Guy and Lisa Favron.

Thank you to all of the nominees and winners for their fine work and to all the other operators in the Yukon who continue to respect and care for our land and environment. Your efforts and contributions to sustainable and responsible mining practices will inspire Yukon’s mining industry for future generations.

Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources John Streicker

Quick facts 
  • The Leckie Awards acknowledge companies who have demonstrated excellence in environmental stewardship, outstanding social responsibility, leadership and innovation in mining practices.

  • The awards are given in honour of Robert (Bob) E. Leckie, a Mayo mining inspector and innovator who was dedicated to the development of progressive land use practices for mining.


Renée Francoeur
Cabinet Communications

John Thompson
Communications, Energy, Mines and Resources

News release #: