Premier Pillai meets with Arctic and Northern Policy Framework Leadership Committee

Arctic Northern Policy Framework Committee in Whitehorse. Photo credit: ARCHBOULD PHOTOGRAPHY

This news release has been updated to reflect corrections to attendees. 

Today, Premier Pillai joined members of the Arctic and Northern Policy Framework Leadership Committee for the table’s fourth annual meeting, held this year in Whitehorse.

The meeting was co-hosted by Council of Yukon First Nations Grand Chief Peter Johnston and Minister of Northern Affairs, Minister responsible for Prairies Economic Development Canada and Minister responsible for the Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency Dan Vandal.

Minister of Housing, Infrastructure and Communities Sean Fraser joined for an opportunity for northern leaders to share their immediate and long-term priorities. For the Yukon, this includes investments that build healthy, resilient and prosperous communities, including clean energy infrastructure and support for housing.

This year, leaders were also joined by Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Foreign Affairs Rob Oliphant and Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of National Defence Marie-France Lalonde to discuss international policy and Arctic security.


The Arctic and Northern Policy Framework provides an important platform for northerners and Indigenous peoples to come together with federal partners to strengthen our vision for a strong, sustainable North. It was an honour participating in this year’s annual Leadership Committee here in the Yukon. We look forward to ongoing collaboration as we work together to develop strategies alongside First Nations governments for achieving our shared goals and improving the quality of life for Yukoners and the wider northern community.

Premier Ranj Pillai

Quick facts 
  • Launched in 2019, the federal government’s Arctic and Northern Policy Framework sets out the Government of Canada’s vision for the Arctic. 

  • The Governments of the Yukon, the Northwest Territories and Nunavut developed a pan-territorial chapter to the framework that sets out shared challenges and opportunities across the North.

  • The federal government, northern Indigenous peoples, six territorial and provincial governments (Yukon, the Northwest Territories, Nunavut, Newfoundland and Labrador, Quebec and Manitoba) all contributed to the framework.

Media contact 

Renée Francoeur
Cabinet Communications

Myra Nicks
Communications, Executive Council Office

News release #: