Learn about the Yukon First Nation School Board

Get the latest information about the Yukon First Nation School Board at www.fnsb.ca

8 public schools will be governed by the First Nation School Board starting in the 2022-23 school year. They are:

  • Nelnah Bessie John (Beaver Creek/White River First Nation);
  • Takhini Elementary School (Whitehorse/Ta'an Kwäch'än Council and Kwanlin Dün First Nation);
  • Chief Zzeh Gittlit School (Old Crow/Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation);
  • Grey Mountain Primary School (Whitehorse/Ta'an Kwäch'än Council and Kwanlin Dün First Nation);
  • Johnson Elementary School and Watson Lake Secondary School (Watson Lake/Liard First Nation)
  • Ross River School (Ross River/Ross River Dena Council); and
  • St. Elias Community School (Haines Junction, Champagne and Aishihik First Nations).

On February 14, 2022, the Government of Yukon and Chiefs Committee on Education gathered to sign a Ministerial Order to officially establish the Yukon First Nation School Board and to honour the 49th anniversary of Together Today for Our Children Tomorrow. 

On this same day in 1973, the seminal document was presented by Yukon First Nations Chiefs to then Prime Minister Pierre Elliott Trudeau—a fitting anniversary to celebrate the occasion of achieving a newfound authority over education.

The Interim Governance Committee (IGC) was appointed in February 2022 to prepare for a successful establishment of the school board for the 2022–23 school year. The IGC was appointed by a Letter of Agreement, signed by the Minister of Education, Jeanie McLean and Chief Dana Tizya-Tramm, Chair of the Chiefs Committee on Education. The IGC will be in place until the school board trustee elections take place in November 2022.

The 5 members of the Interim Governance Committee bring a variety of experience in the Yukon educational system to their roles. They are:

  • Dr. Alyce Johnson, Phd, is a Kluane First Nation Elder and former principal of Kluane Lake School. She holds a PhD in Indigenous Studies from Trent University and in 1973, was a youth signatory to Together Today for our Children Tomorrow.
  • Erin Pauls, is a former school teacher who won the Prime Minister’s Award for Excellence for her work as director of Dusk’a Headstart Preschool. A member of Champagne and Aishihik First Nations, and currently their Director of Education.
  • Jocelyn Joe-Strack, an Indigenous scientist, philosopher, entrepreneur, and member of Champagne and Aishihik First Nations. She is currently the Research Chair in Indigenous Knowledge with Yukon University.
  • Mark Wedge, a Carcross/Tagish First Nation Elder and former chief. Mark has held, and currently holds, many leadership roles focused on education, and economic & social development.
  • Melanie Bennett, life-long educator and former school principal, member of the Tr’ondёk Hwёch’in First Nation, and current Executive Director of the Yukon First Nation Education Directorate

The IGC and the Minister of Education appointed Interim Executive Director Melissa Flynn, a Trʼondëk Hwëchʼin citizen from Dawson City, and long-time educator and administrator. 

On June 3, 2021, the Government of Yukon and the Chiefs Committee on Education announced the finalization of the Yukon First Nation School Board Framework Agreement. 

The agreement sets out the process for the creation of a Yukon First Nation School Board under the Education Act.

This agreement ensures a commitment based on a Yukon First Nations worldview to:

  • a high-quality;and
  • culturally appropriate education.

The process for schools to join the Yukon First Nation School Board is currently closed for the 2022-23 school year. Information for the 2023-24 school year will be available in the fall of 2022.

For a full list of freuqently asked questions about the Yukon First Nation School Board, visit: www.fnsb.ca/faq 

What authority and responsibilities will the Yukon First Nation School Board have?

The Yukon First Nation School Board will carry the authorities and responsibilities of a school board under the Education Act including the following:

  • elect 5 trustees who will oversee the running of the school board;
  • hire an executive director who will oversee the operations of schools operated by the school board.

Operations that are the responsibility of the school board

  • select staff, which includes:
    • principals and teachers;
    • managing hiring, dismissal, and discipline processes as required.
  • reviewing, modifying and approving the school plan;
  • providing educational programs for students;
  • establishing policies for the operations of the schools under the umbrella of operation;
  • receiving and managing funds including those which are received from the Department of Education.
  • assessing and evaluate the schools every 5 years;
  • providing reports to the Minister of Education;
  • arranging for the examination and investigation of student progress and the system of instruction.

Who can attend?

Any Yukon student can attend a school under the Yukon First Nation School Board. 

What will the curriculum look like?

The curriculum will continue to follow British Columbia’s curriculum. The school board will decide on teaching materials, resources and approaches.

First Nation School Board trustee election

School board trustees are elected officials who provide oversight for schools falling under  the school board. School board trustees are elected every 3 years. The next school board elections will be in November 2022.

For more information, visit www.fnsb.ca or www.electionsyukon.ca 




For questions, email ed@fnsb.ca;melissa.flynn@yukon.ca or phone 867-667-6962 extension 103 or 867-332-5290