Find out about Yukon First Nations

There are 14 Yukon First Nations and 8 language groups. There are also Northwest Territories and British Columbia Indigenous groups that have traditional territory in Yukon. Approximately 25 per cent of Yukon’s population are Indigenous Peoples.

Yukon First Nations' role in Yukon governance

Yukon First Nations are an important partner in the governance of the territory. First Nations’ traditional territories cover almost all the land in Yukon. Of the 14 First Nations in Yukon, 11 signed modern treaties between 1993 and 2005. These First Nations make laws and decisions on their Settlement Land and for their Citizens. The Government of Yukon works with all Yukon First Nations to deliver programs and services to Yukoners and manage the territory’s land and resources.

Yukon First Nations

Transboundary Indigenous groups

Indigenous language groups