Learn about heritage legislation

Heritage legislation and policies are complex and often involve multiple acts and agreements. 

Heritage legislation in the Yukon includes:

  • territorial government legislation;

  • Yukon First Nations Final Agreements;

  • heritage acts;

  • federal legislation; and

  • other overlapping agreements.

The Umbrella Final Agreement set out the framework for the Yukon First Nations Final Agreements that have followed. Several sections of the agreements address heritage management, including chapters:

  • 10 (special management areas)
  • 11 (land-use planning);
  • 12 (development assessment);
  • 13 (heritage); and
  • 16 (fish and wildlife).

The Final Agreements are constitutionally protected modern treaties. They outline First Nations’ rights within their traditional territories. 11 of the 14 Yukon First Nations have Final Agreements with the Government of Canada and the Government of Yukon.

Learn more about the Agreements with First Nations of the Yukon.

3 Yukon First Nations governments have passed heritage acts and related guidelines.

  • Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in Heritage Act and Best practices for heritage resources
  • First Nation of Nacho Nyak Dun Heritage Act
  • Vuntut Gwitchin Heritage Act

The Gwich’in and the Inuvialuit have transboundary agreements with the Government of Canada. These agreements include Traditional Territories in the Yukon.
Chapter 12 of the Inuvialuit Final Agreement addresses the Yukon North Slope. This includes Herschel Island-Qikiqtaruk Territorial Park.
Chapter 25 of the Gwich’in Tribal Council Comprehensive Land Claim addresses heritage management.
The following transboundary First Nations have asserted traditional territory within the Yukon. Heritage resources are collaboratively managed in those areas:
  • Acho Dene Koe First Nation;
  • Dease River First Nation;
  • Kwadacha Nation;
  • Tahltan Central Government; and
  • Taku River Tlingit First Nation