Nominations now open for the 2023 Council of the Federation Literacy Award

The nomination period is now open for the 2023 Council of the Federation Literacy Award.

The awards are presented annually, in each province and territory, to celebrate the work of educators, volunteers, learners, community organizations and businesses in literacy.

Premier Ranj Pillai encourages nominations to recognize Yukoners who demonstrate outstanding achievement, innovative practice and excellence in adult literacy development. 

In the past, Yukon recipients have been commended for their contributions to literacy in Yukon First Nation languages and French, leadership in literacy organizations, and for improving their literacy as adult learners.

Visit for more information and to download the nomination package.

The deadline to submit nominations is June 12, 2023.  

Improving literacy is essential for learning and connecting with languages and cultures, as well as for most jobs. That's why it is vital to continue promoting programs that enhance literacy. I encourage Yukoners to recognize local leaders who inspire others to reach their full potential. Thanks to the Council of the Federation for acknowledging literacy work nationwide with this prestigious award.

Premier Ranj Pillai

Quick facts 
  • The 2022 Council of the Federation Literacy Award recipient was Donald Inverarity, recognizing his work on delivering training programs in rural communities, providing essential employment skills for countless people in the territory. He also helped create opportunities for Yukoners through digital and technology education.

  • The Council of the Federation was established in 2003 to support Canada’s 13 premiers to work collaboratively to strengthen the Canadian federation. 

  • The annual award ceremony takes place near International Literacy Day on September 8.

Media contact 

Renée Francoeur
Cabinet Communications
[email protected]

Linnea Blum
Communications, Economic Development
[email protected]

News release #: