Nominate a Yukon Historic Site

Historic sites shape our environment and way of life. They may be associated with remarkable people or historical events, or have cultural, social or scientific significance.

What having Historic Site designation means

Historic Site Designation protects and commemorates the architectural, scientific, historical, social or cultural values of a site.

Specifically, being designated means:

Sites outside of municipalities are eligible for the Heritage Property Tax Exemption.

4 types of designation in Yukon

In Yukon, there are 4 types of designation based on the level and nature of significance:

  1. National
  2. Territorial
  3. Municipal
  4. World

It is possible for a site to hold a national, territorial and municipal designation at the same time.

Whitehorse and Dawson City are the only communities in Yukon that have adopted heritage bylaws. This means they are the only ones able to designate municipal sites under the Historic Resources Act.

Nominate an historic site for territorial designation

  1. Contact us to discuss your nomination plans before you submit an application. Email or phone: 867-667-8258 or toll free in Yukon: 1-800-661-0408 ext. 8258.
  2. Download and read the guidelines.
  3. Complete the nomination form. Describe the site's physical, historical, cultural and scientific significance.

See the Yukon Register of Historic Places website to find places that are already designated.