Find out about general holiday pay under the Employment Standards Act

What is the Employment Standards Act?

The Employment Standards Act and Regulation set the minimum standards for employment in Yukon.

The Act covers most employers and employees. It does not apply to:

  • territorial, First Nations and federal governments;
  • employees who are covered by a collective agreement (unless it does not meet the minimum standards);
  • employees who are excluded by regulations, such as sitters (a person who is hired on a causal basis to look after a child, a disabled person or other person in a private residence); and
  • employees who are employed by sectors that fall under the federal jurisdiction. These include banks, airlines, inter-provincial trucking companies, post offices and radio and television stations.

What are the general holidays in Yukon?

New Year’s Day

January 1

Good Friday

The Friday before Easter Sunday

Victoria Day

The 1st Monday before May 25

National Indigenous Peoples Day

June 21

Canada Day

July 1

Discovery Day

The 3rd Monday in August

Labour Day

The 1st Monday in September

National Day for Truth and Reconciliation

September 30

Thanksgiving Day

The 2nd Monday in October

Remembrance Day

November 11

Christmas Day

December 25

What are not general holidays in Yukon?

  • Heritage Day
  • Easter Monday
  • Boxing Day

General holidays fact sheet

Look at the fact sheet for more information on:

  • how an employee qualifies for a general holiday with pay;
  • calculations for not working on a holiday;
  • calculations for working on a holiday;
  • substitution of other non-working days;
  • agreement between employer and employees;
  • examples for not working on a holiday; and
  • examples for working on a holiday.

For more information

Look at the fact sheet on holiday pay under the Employment Standards Act.

How to submit a wage complaint