- Find out if you need a bus permit
- How to purchase a permit
Find out if you need a bus permit
You will need a bus permit if you have a bus that:
- is not registered in Yukon;
- has a capacity of over 10 passengers, including the driver; and
- is not dropping off or picking up passengers in Yukon.
This permit will allow you to stop over in Yukon for as many days as you'd like. But, you cannot drop off or pick up passengers.
Learn more by reading the Motor Vehicles Act Regulations - Section 15(1)(k).
If you are picking up or dropping off passengers in Yukon
If you are picking up and dropping off passengers in Yukon you need to get a freight vehicle permit for buses.
If you have valid Yukon registration, you do not need these permits.
How to purchase a permit
How much does it cost?
The fee for the bus permit is $25.
What documents do I need?
When you apply for a bus permit, you need to provide the following information before the permit can be issued:
- copy of valid vehicle insurance;
- copy of valid vehicle registration; and
- valid driver’s licence.
In some cases you will need to provide the following. The carrier compliance officer will let you know if these are needed.
- lease agreement;
- copy of bill of lading;
- copy of valid vehicle ownership such as a bill of sale; and
- if you are carrying dangerous goods you need a current Dangerous Goods Training Certificate as well.
Where can I get a bus permit?
A bus permit can be completed and issued by a carrier compliance officer at a weigh station in:
- Whitehorse; or
- Watson Lake.
Permits may also be issued at roadside inspection site weigh stations.
Whitehorse Weigh Station
In person: 91,444 Alaska Highway (kilometre 1420.2) in Whitehorse. We are open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Watson Lake Weigh Station
In person: kilometre 976 Alaska Highway in Watson lake. We are open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.