Carmacks Renewable Resources Council

  • About the Carmacks Renewable Resources Council
  • Apply to be a member
  • Current members

  1. About the Carmacks Renewable Resources Council

    Renewable Resources Councils are a primary instrument for local renewable resources management as set out in the final agreements. Each Renewable Resources Council, acting in the public interest and consistent with their Final Agreement may make recommendations to the Minister, the affected Yukon First Nation, the Fish and Wildlife Management Board and the Salmon Sub-Committee on any matter related to conservation of fish and wildlife. Each Renewable Resources Council makes provisions for public involvement in the development of its decisions and its recommendations.

    • Authority: Little Salmon/Carmacks First Nation (“LSCFN”) Final Agreement, Chapter 2.12.0 and 16.6.0, Renewable Resources Council manual
    • Type: advisory
    • Appointment process: ministerial
    • Requirements: all nominees to the Council should have resided in the Little Salmon/Carmacks First Nation Traditional Territory for at least 1 year immediately prior to their appointment and should have long term familiarity with renewable resources in the Little Salmon/Carmacks First Nation Traditional Territory. A temporary absence from the Little Salmon/Carmacks First Nation Traditional Territory does not constitute an interruption of residency.
    • Term: 5 years
    • Meetings: second and third Wednesday of each month at 6 p.m. in the Carmacks Renewable resources Council Office
    • Department: Environment
    • Honoraria: Honoraria is paid to members for meetings

  2. Apply to be a member

    Any Yukon resident is eligible to apply to serve on a government board or committee.


    1. Complete the application.
    2. Prepare a brief resume. This should include information relevant for sitting on the board or committee.
    3. Submit your completed application and resume.
      In person: Inquiry Desk at 2071 Second Avenue in Whitehorse. We are open Monday to Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Address your envelope "Attention: Boards and Committees Secretariat (CM-1)"
      Government of Yukon
      Boards and Committees Secretariat (CM-1)
      Box 2703
      Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2C6

    How members are selected

    Members are appointed by a Minister, Cabinet or the Legislative Assembly.

    School board and school council members can be elected or, in some cases, appointed.

    Appointments to these boards are based on standing committee recommendations:

    • Yukon Development Corporation
    • Yukon Energy Corporation
    • Yukon Workers' Compensation Health and Safety Board
    • Yukon Lottery Commission
    • Yukon Recreation Advisory Committee
    • Yukon Arts Advisory Council
    • Yukon Utilities Board
    • Yukon Council on the Economy and the Environment
    • Yukon Human Rights Commission

    Some boards and committees members are required to hold certain professional qualifications or affiliations.

  3. Current members
    • Allen Skookum, member from September 22, 2022, to September 21, 2027 and vice-chair from December 1, 2022, to November 30, 2024
    • Alma Wrixon, member from September 16, 2021, to September 15, 2026
    • Candyce-Mae Johnson, member from May 4, 2023, to March 22, 2028
    • Joseph O'Brien, member from April 1, 2023, to March 31, 2028
    • Logan Blanchard, member from March 23, 2023, to March 22, 2028
    • Lorraine Graham, member from June 17, 2021, to June 16, 2026
    • Sheila Garvice, member from April 4, 2025, to April 3, 2028
    • Vera Charlie, member from September 16, 2021, to September 15, 2026, and chair from May 4, 2023, to May 3, 2025


For questions about the Carmacks Renewable Resources Council, email or phone 867-863-6838.