Selkirk Renewable Resources Council

  • About the Selkirk Renewable Resources Council
  • Apply to be a member
  • Current members

  1. About the Selkirk Renewable Resources Council

    Renewable Resources Councils are a primary instrument for local renewable resources management as set out in the final agreements. Each Renewable Resources Council acts in the public interest in a manner consistent with their Final Agreement to make recommendations to the Minister, the affected Yukon First Nation, the Fish and Wildlife Management Board and the Salmon Sub-Committee on any matter related to conservation of fish and wildlife. Each Renewable Resources Council makes provisions for public involvement in the development of its decisions and its recommendations. The Council’s jurisdiction is the Selkirk First Nation Traditional Territory which includes the community of Pelly Crossing.

    • Authority: Selkirk First Nation Final Agreement, Chapter 16.6.3
    • Type: advisory
    • Appointment process: ministerial
    • Requirements: nominees should have resided in the Selkirk First Nation Traditional Territory for at least 1 year immediately prior to their appointment and should have long term familiarity with renewable resources in Selkirk First Nation Traditional Territory
    • Term: 3 years
    • Meetings: first Tuesday of each month from 10:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. in the Council offices in the Selkirk First Nation Administration Building
    • Department: Environment
    • Honoraria: Honoraria is paid to members for meetings

  2. Apply to be a member

    Any Yukon resident is eligible to apply to serve on a government board or committee.


    1. Complete the application.
    2. Prepare a brief resume. This should include information relevant for sitting on the board or committee.
    3. Submit your completed application and resume.
      In person: Inquiry Desk at 2071 Second Avenue in Whitehorse. We are open Monday to Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Address your envelope "Attention: Boards and Committees Secretariat (CM-1)"
      Government of Yukon
      Boards and Committees Secretariat (CM-1)
      Box 2703
      Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2C6

    How members are selected

    Members are appointed by a Minister, Cabinet or the Legislative Assembly.

    School board and school council members can be elected or, in some cases, appointed.

    Appointments to these boards are based on standing committee recommendations:

    • Yukon Development Corporation
    • Yukon Energy Corporation
    • Yukon Workers' Compensation Health and Safety Board
    • Yukon Lottery Commission
    • Yukon Recreation Advisory Committee
    • Yukon Arts Advisory Council
    • Yukon Utilities Board
    • Yukon Council on the Economy and the Environment
    • Yukon Human Rights Commission

    Some boards and committees members are required to hold certain professional qualifications or affiliations.

  3. Current members
    • Alex Joe, First Nations member from April 30, 2020 to April 29, 2023
    • Andy Silverfox, First Nations alternate member from November 22, 2018 to November 21, 2021
    • Bill Shanks, Government of Yukon member from May 13, 2020 to May 12, 2023
    • Brian Isaac, First Nations member from July 29, 2018 to July 28, 2021 
    • Jerry Alfred, First Nations member from October 29, 2020 to October 28, 2021 and co-chair from June 17, 2021 to October 28, 2023
    • Jerry Kruse, Government of Yukon member from April 26, 2018 to April 25, 2021 and co-chair from December 18, 2018 to April 25, 2021
    • Jessica Alfred, Government of Yukon member from December 7, 2020 to December 6, 2023
    • Scott Sawyer, Government of Yukon alternate member from June 19, 2019, to June 18, 2022


For questions about the Selkirk Renewable Resources Council email or phone 867-537-3938, or fax 867-537-3939, or toll free in Yukon 1-800-661-0408, ext. 3938.