Development Corporation Board of Directors (Yukon)

  • About the Development Corporation Board of Directors (Yukon)
  • Apply to be a member
  • Current members

  1. About the Development Corporation Board of Directors (Yukon)
    • promote the development of Yukon resources on an economic and efficient basis;
    • promote employment and business opportunities for Yukon residents;
    • assure a continuing and adequate supply of energy in a manner consistent with sustainable development;
    • alleviate the effects of any energy shortage that may occur in Yukon;
    • promote the establishment, development and operation within the Yukon of industries or undertakings that are, by nature, energy dependent through the provision of cost-effective energy or energy-related infrastructure; and
    • carry out development policy directives issued to it by the Commissioner in Executive Council.
    • Authority: Yukon Development Corporation Act, section 9
    • Type: governing
    • Appointment process: Order-In-Council
    • Requirements: The Yukon government shall ensure board members are generally representative of Yukon's population as per section 22.6.2 of the Umbrella Final Agreement
    • Term: 3 years but may be reappointed for a further term
    • Meetings: quarterly and additional meetings as required.
    • Department: Yukon Development Corporation
    • Honoraria: OIC 2009/182

  2. Apply to be a member

    Any Yukon resident is eligible to apply to serve on a government board or committee.


    1. Complete the application.
    2. Prepare a brief resume. This should include information relevant for sitting on the board or committee.
    3. Submit your completed application and resume.
      In person: Inquiry Desk at 2071 Second Avenue in Whitehorse. We are open Monday to Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Address your envelope "Attention: Boards and Committees Secretariat (CM-1)"
      Government of Yukon
      Boards and Committees Secretariat (CM-1)
      Box 2703
      Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2C6

    How members are selected

    Members are appointed by a Minister, Cabinet or the Legislative Assembly.

    School board and school council members can be elected or, in some cases, appointed.

    Appointments to these boards are based on standing committee recommendations:

    • Yukon Development Corporation
    • Yukon Energy Corporation
    • Yukon Workers' Compensation Health and Safety Board
    • Yukon Lottery Commission
    • Yukon Recreation Advisory Committee
    • Yukon Arts Advisory Council
    • Yukon Utilities Board
    • Yukon Council on the Economy and the Environment
    • Yukon Human Rights Commission

    Some boards and committees members are required to hold certain professional qualifications or affiliations.

  3. Current members
    • Douglas Janzen, member from September 29, 2021, to September 28, 2024
    • Katherine (Kari) Johnston, member from March 30, 2023, to December 16, 2024
    • Michael Pemberton, member from March 30, 2023, to December 16, 2024


For questions about the Development Corporation Board of Directors (Yukon) phone 867-456-3995, or fax 867-456-2145 or toll free in the Yukon 1-800-661-0408, extension 3995.