Police Council (Yukon)

  • About the Police Council (Yukon)
  • Apply to be a member of the Police Council (Yukon)
  • Current members

  1. About the Police Council (Yukon)

    Provide a formal structure and ongoing mechanism for community members to have input into the policing services they receive. The focus is to promote ongoing dialogue, in order to foster positive relationships between the Yukon's citizens, the Yukon RCMP (“M” Division) and the Department of Justice.

  2. Apply to be a member of the Police Council (Yukon)

    Any resident of the Yukon is eligible to apply to serve on a government board or committee.


    1. Complete the application.
    2. Prepare a brief resume. This should include information relevant for sitting on the board or committee.
    3. Submit your completed application and resume.
      In person: Inquiry Desk at 2071 Second Avenue in Whitehorse. We are open Monday to Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Address your envelope "Attention: Boards and Committees Secretariat (CM-1)"
      Email: boards.committees@yukon.ca
      Government of Yukon
      Boards and Committees Secretariat (CM-1)
      Box 2703
      Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2C6

    How members are selected

    Members are appointed by a Minister, Cabinet or the Legislative Assembly.

    School board and school council members can be elected or, in some cases, appointed.

    Appointments to these boards are based on standing committee recommendations:

    • Yukon Development Corporation
    • Yukon Energy Corporation
    • Yukon Workers' Compensation Health and Safety Board
    • Yukon Lottery Commission
    • Yukon Recreation Advisory Committee
    • Yukon Arts Advisory Council
    • Yukon Utilities Board
    • Yukon Council on the Economy and the Environment
    • Yukon Human Rights Commission

    Some boards and committees members are required to hold certain professional qualifications or affiliations.

  3. Current members


    • Christina-Ann Motruk, member from March 21, 2024 to March 20, 2027
    • Jessica Gatensby, member from August 10, 2023, to August 9, 2026
    • John Vandermeer, member from February 22, 2023 to February 21, 2026
    • Teri Lynn Lindsay, member from August 10, 2023, to August 9, 2026


For questions about the Police Council (Yukon) email yukonpolicecouncil@yukon.ca or phone 867-393-6475