Law Society of Yukon (Discipline Committee)

  • About the Law Society of Yukon (Discipline Committee)
  • Apply to be a member
  • Current members

  1. About the Law Society of Yukon (Discipline Committee)

    The Discipline Committee convenes a panel to hear charges that are referred to them of conduct unbecoming a member, professional misconduct, or incompetence of a member.  The Discipline Committee consists of three or more qualified members appointed by the Executive and two or more individuals, appointed by the Minister of Justice, who are not members.

    • Authority: Legal Profession Act 2017 section 9(2)(c)(ii)
    • Type: adjudicative
    • Appointment process: Order-In-Council
    • Requirements: public representative appointed by the Minister of Justice must not be a member of the Law Society of Yukon.
    • Term: 3 years
    • Meetings/hearings: as required
    • Department: Justice
    • Honoraria: none

  2. Apply to be a member

    Any Yukon resident is eligible to apply to serve on a government board or committee.


    1. Complete the application.
    2. Prepare a brief resume. This should include information relevant for sitting on the board or committee.
    3. Submit your completed application and resume.
      In person: Inquiry Desk at 2071 Second Avenue in Whitehorse. We are open Monday to Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Address your envelope "Attention: Boards and Committees Secretariat (CM-1)"
      Email: [email protected]
      Government of Yukon
      Boards and Committees Secretariat (CM-1)
      Box 2703
      Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2C6

    How members are selected

    Members are appointed by a Minister, Cabinet or the Legislative Assembly.

    School board and school council members can be elected or, in some cases, appointed.

    Appointments to these boards are based on standing committee recommendations:

    • Yukon Development Corporation
    • Yukon Energy Corporation
    • Yukon Workers' Compensation Health and Safety Board
    • Yukon Lottery Commission
    • Yukon Recreation Advisory Committee
    • Yukon Arts Advisory Council
    • Yukon Utilities Board
    • Yukon Council on the Economy and the Environment
    • Yukon Human Rights Commission

    Some boards and committees members are required to hold certain professional qualifications or affiliations.

  3. Current members
    • Dan Robinson, member from May 1, 2021, to April 30, 2024
    • Murray Long, member from July 27, 2023, to July 26, 2026


For questions about the Law Society of Yukon (Discipline Committee) email [email protected] or phone 867-668-4231, or fax 867-667-7556.