Crime Prevention and Victim Services Trust Board of Trustees

  • About the Crime Prevention and Victim Services Trust Board of Trustees
  • Apply to be a member
  • Current members

  1. About the Crime Prevention and Victim Services Trust Board of Trustees

    The Board generally conducts and manages the business and affairs of the Crime Prevention and Victim Services Trust (the “Trust”). The purpose of the Trust is to promote and provide services intended to: reduce the incidence of crime; prevent gender-based violence and violence against women and children; and address the root causes of criminal behaviour. Funds are used for the promotion and provision of programs and services for the victims of offences, including programs and services to promote the rights described in the Victims’ Bill of Rights. Funds are also used to promote and publish information about how crime can be prevented and how people can protect themselves from being victimized by crime, about the needs of victims of offences and about services offered for victims of offences.

    • Authority: Crime Prevention and Victim Services Trust Act, section 5
    • Type: advisory
    • Appointment process: Order-In-Council
    • Requirements: no legislated criteria required to join
    • Term: not to exceed 3 years but may be reappointed for a further term. Director of Victim Services is appointed indefinitely and serves as long as he or she remains in the position.
    • Meetings: 2 times per year
    • Department: Justice
    • Honoraria: $125 per day

  2. Apply to be a member

    Any resident of the Yukon is eligible to apply to serve on a government board or committee.


    1. Complete the application.
    2. Prepare a brief resume. This should include information relevant for sitting on the board or committee.
    3. Submit your completed application and resume.
      In person: Inquiry Desk at 2071 Second Avenue in Whitehorse. We are open Monday to Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Address your envelope "Attention: Boards and Committees Secretariat (CM-1)"
      Email: [email protected]
      Government of Yukon
      Boards and Committees Secretariat (CM-1)
      Box 2703
      Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2C6

    How members are selected

    Members are appointed by a Minister, Cabinet or the Legislative Assembly.

    School board and school council members can be elected or, in some cases, appointed.

    Appointments to these boards are based on standing committee recommendations:

    • Yukon Development Corporation
    • Yukon Energy Corporation
    • Yukon Workers' Compensation Health and Safety Board
    • Yukon Lottery Commission
    • Yukon Recreation Advisory Committee
    • Yukon Arts Advisory Council
    • Yukon Utilities Board
    • Yukon Council on the Economy and the Environment
    • Yukon Human Rights Commission

    Some boards and committees members are required to hold certain professional qualifications or affiliations.

  3. Current members
    • Charlotte Hrenchuk, member from January 25, 2025 to January 24, 2027
    • Emma Eaton, member from March 9, 2022, to March 8, 2025
    • Kent Langley, member from August 10, 2023, to August 9, 2026
    • Lareina Twardochleb, chair from June 29, 2015, to indeterminate
    • Luda Ayzenberg, member from May 7, 2022, to May 6, 2025
    • Rick Mawunganidze, member from November 2, 2022, to November 1, 2025
    • Tamara Horsey, member from October 5, 2023 to October 4, 2026


For questions about the Crime Prevention and Victim Services Trust Board of Trustees phone 867-667-8746, or fax 867-393-6240, or toll free in the Yukon 1-800-661-0408, extension 8746.