Licensed Practical Nurses Advisory Committee

  • About the Licensed Practical Nurses Advisory Committee
  • Apply to be a member
  • Current members

  1. About the Licensed Practical Nurses Advisory Committee

    The Committee provides advice to the Government of Yukon about: educational standards to be set for licensed practical nurses; training programs for licensed practical nurses; qualifications for registration; and registration fees, annual fees, and reinstatement fees payable under the Act. The Committee also: reviews applications for registration; develops and publicizes the functions and areas of competence of and standards of practice for licensed practical nurses; monitors the need for licensed practical nurses; performs any other tasks in keeping with the purposes of the Act requested by the Minister; and reviews every complaint made against a licensed practical nurse that is received by the Registrar. 

    • Authority: Licensed Practical Nurses Act, section 2 
    • Type: advisory
    • Appointment process: Order-In-Council
    • Requirements: at least 3 members must be licensed practical nurses
    • Term: 3 years
    • Meetings: as required
    • Department: Community Services
    • Honoraria: $125 per day

  2. Apply to be a member

    Any resident of the Yukon is eligible to apply to serve on a government board or committee.


    1. Complete the application.
    2. Prepare a brief resume. This should include information relevant for sitting on the board or committee.
    3. Submit your completed application and resume.
      In person: Inquiry Desk at 2071 Second Avenue in Whitehorse. We are open Monday to Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Address your envelope "Attention: Boards and Committees Secretariat (CM-1)"
      Government of Yukon
      Boards and Committees Secretariat (CM-1)
      Box 2703
      Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2C6

    How members are selected

    Members are appointed by a Minister, Cabinet or the Legislative Assembly.

    School board and school council members can be elected or, in some cases, appointed.

    Appointments to these boards are based on standing committee recommendations:

    • Yukon Development Corporation
    • Yukon Energy Corporation
    • Yukon Workers' Compensation Health and Safety Board
    • Yukon Lottery Commission
    • Yukon Recreation Advisory Committee
    • Yukon Arts Advisory Council
    • Yukon Utilities Board
    • Yukon Council on the Economy and the Environment
    • Yukon Human Rights Commission

    Some boards and committees members are required to hold certain professional qualifications or affiliations.

  3. Current members
    • Amanda Fraser, member from December 1, 2022, to November 30, 2025
    • Heidi Foley, member from January 27, 2022 to January 26, 2025
    • Matthew Wilson, member and chair from February 22, 2022, to February 21, 2025


For questions about the Licensed Practical Nurses Advisory Committee, please email phone 867-332-7295, or toll free in the Yukon 1-800-661-0408.