Hospital Corporation Board of Trustees (Yukon)

  • About the Hospital Corporation Board of Trustees (Yukon)
  • Apply to be a member
  • Current members

  1. About the Hospital Corporation Board of Trustees (Yukon)

    The board governs the activities and programs of the Yukon Hospital Corporation. The objectives of the corporation are to supply:

    • hospital and medical care and service;
    • supervised residential care and continuing care; and
    • rehabilitative care and services to meet the needs of people in the Yukon.

    More about the board

    • Authority: Hospital Act, section 1 and Yukon Hospital Corporation Board of Trustees Remuneration Regulation
    • Type: advisory
    • Appointment process: Order-In-Council
    • Requirements: if a group fails to make the nominations it's entitled to make, the Commissioner in Executive Council may appoint people who are nominated by the Minister instead of by the group in question. Suitability of members including knowledge, experience and competence regarding matters relevant to the operations of the board and the activities and programs of the corporation are required. Get more information.
    • Term: 3 years and may be reappointed for further terms
    • Meetings: once per month
    • Department: Health and Social Services 
    • Honoraria: OIC 2010/111 and OIC 2010/207

  2. Apply to be a member

    Any Yukon resident is eligible to apply to serve on a government board or committee.


    1. Complete the application.
    2. Prepare a brief resume. This should include information relevant for sitting on the board or committee.
    3. Submit your completed application and resume.
      In person: Inquiry Desk at 2071 2nd Avenue in Whitehorse. We are open Monday to Friday from 8:30 am to 5 pm. Address your envelope "Attention: Boards and Committees Secretariat (CM-1)"
      Email: [email protected]
      Government of Yukon
      Boards and Committees Secretariat (CM-1)
      Box 2703
      Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2C6

    How members are selected

    Members are appointed by a Minister, Cabinet or the Yukon Legislative Assembly.

    School board and school council members can be elected or, in some cases, appointed.

    Appointments to these boards are based on standing committee recommendations:

    • Yukon Development Corporation
    • Yukon Energy Corporation
    • Yukon Workers' Compensation Health and Safety Board
    • Yukon Lottery Commission
    • Yukon Recreation Advisory Committee
    • Yukon Arts Advisory Council
    • Yukon Utilities Board
    • Yukon Council on the Economy and the Environment
    • Yukon Human Rights Commission

    Some boards and committees members are required to hold certain professional qualifications or affiliations.

  3. Current members
    • Allison Kormendy, member from July 14, 2022, to July 13, 2025
    • Cameron Lockwood, member from July 22, 2022, to July 21, 2025
    • Dr. Kathleen Dalinghaus, member from July 18, 2022, to July 17, 2025
    • Myra Iles, member from September 7, 2023, to September 6, 2026
    • Pamela Hine, member and chair from June 27, 2024 to June 26, 2027
    • Ron Veale, member from October 1, 2021, to September 30, 2024
    • Tosh Southwick, member from November 2, 2022, to November 1, 2025
    • Vera Holmes, member from July 22, 2022, to July 21, 2025
    • Wayne Potoroka, member from August 24, 2023, to August 23, 2026


For questions about the Hospital Corporation Board of Trustees (Yukon) phone 867-393-8732 or fax 867-393-8707, or toll free in the Yukon 1-800-661-0408, extension 8732.