Teslin Renewable Resources Council

  • About the Teslin Renewable Resources Council
  • Apply to be a member
  • Current members

  1. About the Teslin Renewable Resources Council

    Renewable Resources Councils are a primary instrument for local renewable resources management as set out in the final agreements. Each Renewable Resources Council acts in the public interest and in a manner consistent with their Final Agreement to make recommendations to the Minister, the affected Yukon First Nation, the Fish and Wildlife Management Board and the Salmon Sub-Committee on any matter related to conservation of fish and wildlife. Each Renewable Resources Council makes provisions for public involvement in the development of its decisions and its recommendations.

    The Council's jurisdiction is the Teslin Tlingit Council Traditional Territory which includes the community of Teslin.

    • Authority: Teslin Tlingit Council Final Agreement, Chapter 16.6.3, Renewable Resources Council manual | Government of Yukon
    • Type: advisory
    • Appointment process: ministerial
    • Requirements: Must be resident within Teslin Tlingit Council Traditional Territory. A resident is a person who has long term familiarity with Teslin Tlingit Council Traditional Territory and its renewable resources and who lives in Teslin Tlingit Council Traditional Territory.
    • Term: 5 years
    • Meetings: 12 times per year
    • Department: Environment 
    • Honoraria: Honoraria is paid to members for meetings

  2. Apply to be a member

    Any Yukon resident is eligible to apply to serve on a government board or committee.


    1. Complete the application.
    2. Prepare a brief resume. This should include information relevant for sitting on the board or committee.
    3. Submit your completed application and resume.
      In person: Inquiry Desk at 2071 Second Avenue in Whitehorse. We are open Monday to Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Address your envelope "Attention: Boards and Committees Secretariat (CM-1)"
      Email: boards.committees@gov.yk.ca
      Government of Yukon
      Boards and Committees Secretariat (CM-1)
      Box 2703
      Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2C6

    How members are selected

    Members are appointed by a Minister, Cabinet or the Legislative Assembly.

    School board and school council members can be elected or, in some cases, appointed.

    Appointments to these boards are based on standing committee recommendations:

    • Yukon Development Corporation
    • Yukon Energy Corporation
    • Yukon Workers' Compensation Health and Safety Board
    • Yukon Lottery Commission
    • Yukon Recreation Advisory Committee
    • Yukon Arts Advisory Council
    • Yukon Utilities Board
    • Yukon Council on the Economy and the Environment
    • Yukon Human Rights Commission

    Some boards and committees members are required to hold certain professional qualifications or affiliations.

  3. Current members
    • Adam Grinde, Government of Yukon member from April 11, 2019, to April 10, 2024
    • Carolyn Allen, Government of Yukon member from December 16, 2019 to December 15, 2024
    • Frank Johnstone, Government of Yukon member from April 1, 2018 to March 31, 2023 and vice-chair from February 13, 2019, to February 12, 2022
    • John Martychuk, First Nations member from November 4, 2015, to November 3, 2020
    • Juanita Kermer, First Nations member from December 12, 2019 to December 11, 2024
    • Kyle Keenan, First Nations member from July 17, 2019 July 16, 2024
    • Minnie Clark, Government of Yukon member June 17, 2021 to June 16, 2026
    • Randy Keleher, Government of Yukon member from June 27, 2018, to June 26, 2023 and vice-chair from June 9, 2022 to June 26, 2023
    • Sandy Smarch, First Nations member from April 16, 1010 to April 15, 2025 and chair from March 11, 2021 to April 15, 2025
    • Tim Dewhurst Senior, First Nations member from July 17, 2019 to July 16, 2024


For questions about the Teslin Renewable Resources Council email teslinrrc@northwestel.net or phone 867-390-2323, or fax 867-390-2919, or toll free in the Yukon 1-800-661-0408, extension 2323.