Driver Control Board

  • About the Driver Control Board
  • Apply to be a member
  • Current members

  1. About the Driver Control Board

    The purpose of the Board is to carry out an adjudicative role in determining if an individual may hold a driver's licence. Individuals may be referred to the Board by a judge or the Registrar of Motor Vehicles. The Board also acts as an independent appeal board for drivers who have been refused a licence or whose licence has been suspended by the Registrar of Motor Vehicles. The Board has the power to invoke an indefinite driver's licence suspension or prescribe any measure or course of remedial education or treatment. The Board's decisions may only be overruled on subsequent appeal to the Board or by a court judge.

    • Authority: Motor Vehicles Act, section 24
    • Type: adjudicative 
    • Appointment process: Order-In-Council
    • Requirements: no legislated requirements required to join
    • Term: 3 years
    • Meetings: two consecutive evenings each month
    • Department: Highways and Public Works
    • Honoraria: $200 per day

  2. Apply to be a member

    Any Yukon resident is eligible to apply to serve on a government board or committee.


    1. Complete the application.
    2. Prepare a brief resume. This should include information relevant for sitting on the board or committee.
    3. Submit your completed application and resume.
      In person: Inquiry Desk at 2071 Second Avenue in Whitehorse. We are open Monday to Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Address your envelope "Attention: Boards and Committees Secretariat (CM-1)"
      Government of Yukon
      Boards and Committees Secretariat (CM-1)
      Box 2703
      Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2C6

    How members are selected

    Members are appointed by a Minister, Cabinet or the Legislative Assembly.

    School board and school council members can be elected or, in some cases, appointed.

    Appointments to these boards are based on standing committee recommendations:

    • Yukon Development Corporation
    • Yukon Energy Corporation
    • Yukon Workers' Compensation Health and Safety Board
    • Yukon Lottery Commission
    • Yukon Recreation Advisory Committee
    • Yukon Arts Advisory Council
    • Yukon Utilities Board
    • Yukon Council on the Economy and the Environment
    • Yukon Human Rights Commission

    Some boards and committees members are required to hold certain professional qualifications or affiliations.

  3. Current members
    • Alexander Campbell, member from January 12, 2023, to January 11, 2026
    • Deanna Thick, member from January 28, 2021, to January 27, 2024
    • Julius Debuschewitz, chair from July 22, 2021, to July 21, 2024
    • Richard Reaume, member from July 22, 2021, to July 21, 2024
    • Tammie O'Connor, member from July 22, 2021, to July 21, 2024


For questions about the Driver Control Board phone 867-667-5623, or fax 867-393-6963, or toll free in the Yukon 1-800-661-0408, extension 5623.