Law Society of Yukon (Executive)

  • About the Law Society of Yukon (Executive)
  • Apply to be a member
  • Current members

  1. About the Law Society of Yukon (Executive)

    The Executive of the Law Society is responsible for the governing and regulation of the legal profession in the public interest.  The Society protects the public interest in the administration of justice by setting and enforcing standards of learning, competence and professional conduct for lawyers. The Executive consists of 6 annually elected members and two public, non-lawyer representatives appointed by the Yukon government for 2-year terms.  The Society is not a Yukon government agency. A member of Law Society of Yukon is not eligible to be a public representative.

    • Authority: Legal Profession Act, 2017 section 4
    • Type: regulatory
    • Appointment process: Order-In-Council
    • Requirements: except for the two public representative appointments, a person is not eligible unless they are an active member of the Society resident in the Yukon
    • Term: 2 years
    • Meetings: 18 times per year
    • Department: Justice
    • Honoraria: $200 for public members

  2. Apply to be a member

    Any Yukon resident is eligible to apply to serve on a government board or committee.


    1. Complete the application.
    2. Prepare a brief resume. This should include information relevant for sitting on the board or committee.
    3. Submit your completed application and resume.
      In person: Inquiry Desk at 2071 Second Avenue in Whitehorse. We are open Monday to Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Address your envelope "Attention: Boards and Committees Secretariat (CM-1)"
      Email: [email protected]
      Government of Yukon
      Boards and Committees Secretariat (CM-1)
      Box 2703
      Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2C6

    How members are selected

    Members are appointed by a Minister, Cabinet or the Legislative Assembly.

    School board and school council members can be elected or, in some cases, appointed.

    Appointments to these boards are based on standing committee recommendations:

    • Yukon Development Corporation
    • Yukon Energy Corporation
    • Yukon Workers' Compensation Health and Safety Board
    • Yukon Lottery Commission
    • Yukon Recreation Advisory Committee
    • Yukon Arts Advisory Council
    • Yukon Utilities Board
    • Yukon Council on the Economy and the Environment
    • Yukon Human Rights Commission

    Some boards and committees members are required to hold certain professional qualifications or affiliations.

  3. Current members
    • Chris Butler, member from April 29, 2023 to April 28, 2025
    • Melissa Carlick, member from May 13, 2022, to May 12, 2024


For questions about the Law Society Yukon Executive (Yukon) email [email protected] or phone 867-668-4231, or fax 867-667-7556.