Lottery Commission (Yukon)

  • About the Lottery Commission (Yukon)
  • Apply to be a member of the Lottery Commission (Yukon)
  • Current members

  1. About the Lottery Commission (Yukon)

    The Commission is an agent of the Government of Yukon. Oversight for interjurisdictional lotteries in the Yukon is provided by both the Commission and the Western Canada Lottery Corporation. The Commission is responsible for the conduct and management of interjurisdictional lotteries and, subject to the regulations, the allocation of the profits of interjurisdictional lotteries to projects and activities throughout the Yukon for arts, sport, and recreation. The Commission provides advice to the Minister responsible for the Yukon Lottery Commission.

    • Authority: Public Lotteries Act, section 2
    • Type: regulatory
    • Appointment process: ministerial
    • Requirements:no legislated criteria required to join
    • Term: 2 years
    • Meetings: 4 to 5 times a year
    • Department: Lotteries Yukon
    • Honoraria: cabinet decision 1991/06/20

  2. Apply to be a member of the Lottery Commission (Yukon)

    Any resident of the Yukon is eligible to apply to serve on a government board or committee.


    1. Complete the application.
    2. Prepare a brief resume. This should include information relevant for sitting on the board or committee.
    3. Submit your completed application and resume.
      In person: Inquiry Desk at 2071 Second Avenue in Whitehorse. We are open Monday to Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Address your envelope "Attention: Boards and Committees Secretariat (CM-1)"
      Government of Yukon
      Boards and Committees Secretariat (CM-1)
      Box 2703
      Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2C6

    How members are selected

    Members are appointed by a Minister, Cabinet or the Legislative Assembly.

    School board and school council members can be elected or, in some cases, appointed.

    Appointments to these boards are based on standing committee recommendations:

    • Yukon Development Corporation
    • Yukon Energy Corporation
    • Yukon Workers' Compensation Health and Safety Board
    • Yukon Lottery Commission
    • Yukon Recreation Advisory Committee
    • Yukon Arts Advisory Council
    • Yukon Utilities Board
    • Yukon Council on the Economy and the Environment
    • Yukon Human Rights Commission

    Some boards and committees members are required to hold certain professional qualifications or affiliations.

  3. Current members
    • Alex Brook, member from  January 27, 2021, to January 26, 2024
    • Frank Curlew, member and chair from February 25, 2021, to February 24, 2023
    • Norma Davignon, member from September 22, 2022, to September 21, 2024
    • Sara Skelton, member from February 25, 2021, to February 24, 2023
    • Tim Brady, member from January 27, 2021, to January 26, 2024
    • Trevor Ellis, member from May 28, 2020, to May 27, 2022
    • Warren Pearson, member from January 27, 2021, to January 26, 2024
    • Aidan Sullivan, member from September 22, 2022, to September 21, 2024


For questions about the Lottery Commission (Yukon) or phone 867-633-7890, or toll free in the Yukon 1-800-661-0555, extension 7890.