Land Use Planning Council (Yukon)

  • About the Land Use Planning Council (Yukon)
  • Apply to be a member
  • Current members

  1. About the Land Use Planning Council (Yukon)

    The Council makes recommendations to Yukon government and each affected Yukon First Nation on the following:

    • land use planning, including policies, goals and priorities, in the Yukon;
    • the identification of planning regions and priorities for the preparation of regional land use plans;
    • the general terms of reference, including timeframes, for each Regional Land Use Planning Commission;
    • the boundary of each planning region; and
    • such other matters as Yukon government and each affected Yukon First Nation may agree.
    • Authority: Umbrella Final Agreement, Chapters 2.12.0 and 11.3.0
    • Type: advisory
    • Appointment process: ministerial 
    • Requirements: Yukon residents and not delegates of the parties who nominate or appoint them.
    • Term: 3 years
    • Meetings: annually
    • Department: Energy, Mines and Resources
    • Honoraria: $200 per day

  2. Apply to be a member

    Any Yukon resident is eligible to apply to serve on a government board or committee.


    1. Complete the application.
    2. Prepare a brief resume. This should include information relevant for sitting on the board or committee.
    3. Submit your completed application and resume.
      In person: Inquiry Desk at 2071 Second Avenue in Whitehorse. We are open Monday to Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Address your envelope "Attention: Boards and Committees Secretariat (CM-1)"
      Government of Yukon
      Boards and Committees Secretariat (CM-1)
      Box 2703
      Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2C6

    How members are selected

    Members are appointed by a Minister, Cabinet or the Legislative Assembly.

    School board and school council members can be elected or, in some cases, appointed.

    Appointments to these boards are based on standing committee recommendations:

    • Yukon Development Corporation
    • Yukon Energy Corporation
    • Yukon Workers' Compensation Health and Safety Board
    • Yukon Lottery Commission
    • Yukon Recreation Advisory Committee
    • Yukon Arts Advisory Council
    • Yukon Utilities Board
    • Yukon Council on the Economy and the Environment
    • Yukon Human Rights Commission

    Some boards and committees members are required to hold certain professional qualifications or affiliations.

  3. Current members
    • Al Foster, member from June 15, 2023, to June 14, 2026
    • Carl Sidney, member from February 2, 2024 to February 1, 2027
    • Neil Salvin, member from June 17, 2021, to June 16, 2024


For questions about the Land Use Planning Council (Yukon) phone 867-667-7397, or fax 867-667-4624.