Human Rights Commission (Yukon)

  • About the Human Rights Commission (Yukon)
  • Apply to be a member
  • Current members

  1. About the Human Rights Commission (Yukon)

    The Commission’s mandate is to:

    • promote the principle that every individual is free and equal in dignity and rights;
    • promote the principle that cultural diversity is a fundamental human value and a basic human right;
    • promote education and research designed to eliminate discrimination;
    • promote a settlement of complaints in accordance with the objects of the Human Rights Act by agreement of all parties; and
    • cause complaints which are not settled by agreement to be adjudicated, and at the adjudication adopt the position which in the opinion of the Commission best promotes the objects of the Human Rights Act.

    The Commission conducts education and research on the principle of equal pay for work of equal value in the private sector. The Commission is accountable to the Legislature.

    • Authority: Human Rights Act, section 16
    • Type: adjudicative 
    • Appointment process: legislative 
    • Requirements: no legislated requirements required to join.
    • Term: 3 years
    • Meetings: 16 times per year
    • Department: Justice 
    • Honoraria: $125 per day

  2. Apply to be a member

    Any Yukon resident is eligible to apply to serve on a government board or committee.


    1. Complete the application.
    2. Prepare a brief resume. This should include information relevant for sitting on the board or committee.
    3. Submit your completed application and resume.
      In person: Inquiry Desk at 2071 Second Avenue in Whitehorse. We are open Monday to Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Address your envelope "Attention: Boards and Committees Secretariat (CM-1)"
      Government of Yukon
      Boards and Committees Secretariat (CM-1)
      Box 2703
      Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2C6

    How members are selected

    Members are appointed by a Minister, Cabinet or the Legislative Assembly.

    School board and school council members can be elected or, in some cases, appointed.

    Appointments to these boards are based on standing committee recommendations:

    • Yukon Development Corporation
    • Yukon Energy Corporation
    • Yukon Workers' Compensation Health and Safety Board
    • Yukon Lottery Commission
    • Yukon Recreation Advisory Committee
    • Yukon Arts Advisory Council
    • Yukon Utilities Board
    • Yukon Council on the Economy and the Environment
    • Yukon Human Rights Commission

    Some boards and committees members are required to hold certain professional qualifications or affiliations.

  3. Current members
    • Aja Mason, member from May 24, 2022, to May 23, 2025
    • Leonard Wall, member from November 21, 2023, to November 20, 2026
    • Michael Dougherty, member from December 11, 2021, to December 10, 2024
    • Nathan Cross, member from November 21, 2023, to November 20, 2026
    • Rosemary Rowlands, member from November 30, 2021, to November 29, 2024


For questions about the Human Rights Commission (Yukon) email or phone 867-667-6226, or fax 867-667-2662.