Dawson District Renewable Resources Council

  • About the Dawson District Renewable Resources Council
  • Apply to be a member
  • Current members

  1. About the Dawson District Renewable Resources Council

    Renewable Resources Councils are a primary instrument for local renewable resources management as set out in the final agreements. Each Renewable Resources Council, acting in the public interest and consistent with their Final Agreement may make recommendations to the Minister, the affected Yukon First Nation, the Fish and Wildlife Management Board and the Salmon Sub-Committee on any matter related to conservation of fish and wildlife. Each Renewable Resources Council makes provisions for public involvement in the development of its decisions and its recommendations.

    • Authority: Tr'ondëk Hwëch'in Final Agreement, Chapter 16.6, Renewable Resources Council manual
    • Type: advisory
    • Appointment process: ministerial
    • Requirements: all nominees to the Council should have resided in the Traditional Territory of the Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in for at least 1 year immediately prior to their appointment and should have long term familiarity with renewable resources in Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in Traditional Territory. A temporary absence from Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in Traditional Territory does not constitute an interruption of residency.
    • Term: 3 years
    • Meetings: twice a month on Thursdays at the Madame Tremblay Building on 3rd and King Street
    • Department: Environment
    • Honoraria: Honoraria is paid to members for meetings

  2. Apply to be a member

    Any Yukon resident is eligible to apply to serve on a government board or committee.


    1. Complete the application.
    2. Prepare a brief resume. This should include information relevant for sitting on the board or committee.
    3. Submit your completed application and resume.
      In person: Inquiry Desk at 2071 Second Avenue in Whitehorse. We are open Monday to Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Address your envelope "Attention: Boards and Committees Secretariat (CM-1)"
      Email: boards.committees@yukon.ca
      Government of Yukon
      Boards and Committees Secretariat (CM-1)
      Box 2703
      Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2C6

    How members are selected

    Members are appointed by a Minister, Cabinet or the Legislative Assembly.

    School board and school council members can be elected or, in some cases, appointed.

    Appointments to these boards are based on standing committee recommendations:

    • Yukon Development Corporation
    • Yukon Energy Corporation
    • Yukon Workers' Compensation Health and Safety Board
    • Yukon Lottery Commission
    • Yukon Recreation Advisory Committee
    • Yukon Arts Advisory Council
    • Yukon Utilities Board
    • Yukon Council on the Economy and the Environment
    • Yukon Human Rights Commission

    Some boards and committees members are required to hold certain professional qualifications or affiliations.

  3. Current members
    • Alan Anderson, member from January 11, 2024 to January 10, 2027
    • Dan Reynolds, member from October 19, 2023 to October 18, 2026 and co-chair from December 14, 2023 to December 13, 2024
    • Darren Bullern, member from January 11, 2024 to January 10, 2027
    • Duncan Smith, member from December 1, 2022, to November 30, 2025
    • George McLeod, member from April 20, 2022, to April 19, 2025
    • Ian Fraser, member from January 11, 2024 to January 10, 2027
    • Kyler Mather, member from December 1, 2022 to November 30, 2025
    • Mark Wierda, member from July 8, 2021, to July 7, 2024 co-chair from November 2, 2022, to July 7, 2024


For questions about the Dawson District Renewable Resources Council phone 867-993-6976 or fax 867-993-6093 or toll free in the Yukon 1-800-661-0408, extension 6976.